Martin County
Martin County
State of Florida
Martin County is a county authority in the State of Florida, serving 158,431 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Martin County against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Martin County is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical. The Martin County Building Department (900 SE Ruhnke St, Stuart) issues one combined Building Permit that covers the electrical scope for residential PV, does its own plan review, and performs its own inspections (or accepts a state-licensed private provider's inspection under FS 553.791, including a Martin-specific 'Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit' for the roof-mount work). Zoning/land-development review sits with Growth Management; that office's rules could not be verified today (see below).
- Delegated to
- Owner/contractor may elect a Florida-licensed private provider (PE, architect, or licensed inspector) for plan review and/or inspection under FS 553.791; Martin's own Notice-to-Building-Official and Private Provider Instructions forms govern this route, and its fee schedule waives 100% of residential plan-review and inspection fees when it is used.
- Overridden by
- FS 553.792 (HB 803) caps review turnaround (30 business days generally, 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical work under $15,000) and penalizes missed deadlines with fee reductions; FS 125.56(4)(d) sets a 1-year floor on a county-issued single-family-dwelling permit; FS 163.04 bars the county (and any HOA) from prohibiting solar installation; FPL (utility) will not grant Permission-to-Operate until the customer furnishes proof of the county's final inspection/certification, per FPL's own Tier 1/2/3 Net Metering Interconnection Agreements.
- Why not higher
- Martin's own 'Do I Need a Permit?' page lists 'Photovoltaic (solar) systems' among work requiring a permit, and every checklist/form reviewed names the Martin County Building Department as issuer. This record covers UNINCORPORATED Martin County only. The City of Stuart runs its own 'Online Permit Applications' portal and news item ('New Building Permit Exemptions Now in Effect') distinct from the county's, so it is very likely a separate AHJ for addresses inside Stuart city limits; Sewall's Point, Ocean Breeze Park and the Town of Jupiter Island were not independently checked today and are flagged, not assumed, as separate.
https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/do-i-need-permit
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- Valuation-tiered: $75 building fee + $25 plan review under $25,000; $100 + $100 from $25,001–$50,000; $250 + $200 from $50,001–$150,000;85%
- Plan review
- No Martin-specific number published; the binding statutory cap is FS 553.792: 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical work under $15,000,72%
- Portal
- Accela Citizen Access (ACA) Portal, paired with the ePermitHub 'Digital Plan Room' for electronic plan review90%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC92%
- Own placard wording
- No — Martin does not publish its own placard wording65%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Accela Citizen Access) or Phone/Text (SMS to 202-937-0892)88%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined — one Building Permit Application carries the electrical scope Q4 Plan review — No Martin-specific number published; the binding statutory cap is FS 553.792: 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical work under… Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access (ACA) Portal, paired with the ePermitHub 'Digital Plan Room' for electronic plan review Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- Valuation-tiered: $75 building fee + $25 plan review under $25,000; $100 + $100 from $25,001–$50,000; $250 + $200 from $50,001–$150,000;85% source
- Plan review turnaround
- No Martin-specific number published; the binding statutory cap is FS 553.792: 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical work under $15,000,72% source
- Key document
- department checklist cited by 4 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes, for unincorporated Martin County 88% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — a single combined Building Permit covers the electrical (and any structural) scope; no separate 'electrical department' 72% · department checklist
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined — one Building Permit Application carries the electrical scope 68% · department checklist
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — not required as a county permitting precondition 68% · state statute
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate 'windstorm certification' step for residential PV; standard wind-load design-pressure review and the FL Product Approval (61G20-3 F.A.C.) system are folded into the ordinary structural plan review 62% · department checklist
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — a Florida-certified/registered electrical or solar contractor (FS 489.105(3)(o), 489.505), or the homeowner as owner-builder for their own single-family residence (FS 489.503(6)) 70% · department checklist + state statute
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 78% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No dedicated PV submittal checklist is published. By analogy to the Electrical and Generator checklists: Building Permit Application, Owner/Builder Disclosure Statement (if applicable), Electrical Schematic Diagram, Electrical Load Calculations, and — for roof-mounted arrays — either engineered/sealed roof-attachment drawings or the county's own 'Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit' in lieu; ground-mount or other accessory-structure PV would additionally need a survey/site plan per the Miscellaneous Residential Structure Checklist. 60% · department checklist (inferred)
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only — submitted through Accela Citizen Access (ACA) plus the ePermitHub 'Digital Plan Room'; no physical-copy count is published 62% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? For ground-mount/accessory-structure PV, yes — a signed & sealed survey/site plan showing NAVD elevations, drainage, flood zone, setbacks to all sides, and easements/buffers. No PV-specific statement found for roof-mount-only systems. 58% · department checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes — an 'Electrical Schematic Diagram' showing existing and proposed electric, conduit, wire, panels, etc. is required 80% · department checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? An Electrical Load Calculations form is required; it is a general service-load form (not PV-string-specific) 65% · department form
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No numeric $ or size threshold is published. Martin's own 'Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit' lets a licensed inspector, PE, or architect certify the roof attachment in lieu of a project-specific structural PE stamp; where plans exceed manufacturer product-approval data, a sealed structural evaluation is implied by the general 'Complete Set of Sealed Plans' requirement (Ch. 471/481 F.S.). 55% · department form (inferred)
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No numeric threshold published; 'Engineered Drawings...certified with a raised seal by a Florida licensed Engineer' is listed as a standing item (not threshold-gated) on the Electrical Checklist 58% · department checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access (ACA) Portal, paired with the ePermitHub 'Digital Plan Room' for electronic plan review 90% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 80% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Valuation-tiered: $75 building fee + $25 plan review under $25,000; $100 + $100 from $25,001–$50,000; $250 + $200 from $50,001–$150,000; 0.20% + 0.20% (or 0.18% above $500,000) of construction cost above that — plus $75 per inspection. If a Private Provider is used for plan review/inspection, residential plan-review and inspection fees are reduced 100%. 85% · published fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation (tiered on cost of construction, with the private-provider route zeroing residential plan-review/inspection fees) 88% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — a separate 'Plan Review' fee line exists at every cost tier, distinct from the 'Building Fee' 90% · published fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? No Martin-specific number published; the binding statutory cap is FS 553.792: 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical work under $15,000, otherwise 30 business days (structures <7,500 sq ft), with a 10-business-day cap on review of resubmitted revisions. 72% · state statute
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? At least 1 year (365 days) for a county-issued single-family-dwelling permit (state-law floor); Martin's own process separately treats an un-issued APPLICATION as abandoned after 180 days (FBC 105.3.2), with 90-day extensions available, and offers a Permit Extension/Renewal Request form (3–5 business day processing) for an issued permit that has stalled. 75% · department form + state statute
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Florida Power & Light (FPL) 72% · utility's own page + absence in county utility scope
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit / parallel — FPL will not grant Permission to Operate until the customer provides proof that the local building official has inspected and certified the installation 80% · utility interconnection agreement
28 questions answered against Martin County’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, for unincorporated Martin County
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own 'Do I Need a Permit?' page lists 'Photovoltaic (solar) systems' under work requiring a permit; scope limited to unincorporated area (Stuart has its own portal).
authority's own page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/do-i-need-permit
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both — a single combined Building Permit covers the electrical (and any structural) scope; no separate 'electrical department'
Why the confidence is not higherThe Electrical Checklist and Generator Checklist both begin with 'Building Permit Application' as item 1, and the fee schedule has one valuation-based fee track, not a separate electrical fee schedule.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExplicitly listed ('Photovoltaic (solar) systems') on the county's permit-requirement page; also, the HB 803 $7,500 non-structural exemption explicitly excludes electrical work, and residential PV always involves electrical work.
authority's own page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/do-i-need-permit
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined — one Building Permit Application carries the electrical scope
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate 'electrical permit' application or fee line found; the Electrical Checklist is filed under the general Building Permit Application.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either — a Florida-certified/registered electrical or solar contractor (FS 489.105(3)(o), 489.505), or the homeowner as owner-builder for their own single-family residence (FS 489.503(6))
Why the confidence is not higherMartin's Electrical/Generator/Miscellaneous-Structure checklists all list an 'Owner/Builder Disclosure Statement' item citing FS 489.503(6); FS 489.105 separately defines the state 'solar contractor' license category.
department checklist + state statute checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-generator-requirement
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's Contractor Licensing page: 'Contractors authorized to work in Martin County can be verified using the county's online Licensed Contractor Search' — implying registration/verification in the county's own system even for state-certified contractors.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/contractor-licensing-verification
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own contractor-licensing page: 'Only homeowners and licensed contractors can pull permits.' The Owner/Builder Disclosure Statement is a standard item on every Martin checklist reviewed, with no PV-specific carve-out found.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/contractor-licensing-verification
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No dedicated PV submittal checklist is published. By analogy to the Electrical and Generator checklists: Building Permit Application, Owner/Builder Disclosure Statement (if applicable), Electrical Schematic Diagram, Electrical Load Calculations, and — for roof-mounted arrays — either engineered/sealed roof-attachment drawings or the county's own 'Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit' in lieu; ground-mount or other accessory-structure PV would additionally need a survey/site plan per the Miscellaneous Residential Structure Checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred by combining Martin's Electrical Checklist, Generator Checklist and Miscellaneous Structure Checklist — no single PV-specific document exists (confirmed by a full listing of ~60 named checklists with no 'solar'/'photovoltaic' entry).
department checklist (inferred) checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/BuildingPermitChecklists
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only — submitted through Accela Citizen Access (ACA) plus the ePermitHub 'Digital Plan Room'; no physical-copy count is published
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-permit page describes the ACA portal and the ePermitHub Digital Plan Room as the submission route; no mention of paper copies.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/apply-building-permit
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
For ground-mount/accessory-structure PV, yes — a signed & sealed survey/site plan showing NAVD elevations, drainage, flood zone, setbacks to all sides, and easements/buffers. No PV-specific statement found for roof-mount-only systems.
Why the confidence is not higherMiscellaneous Residential Structure Checklist and Generator Checklist both require this survey/site-plan package; no PV-specific document exists to confirm roof-mount-only treatment.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-miscellaneous-structure-residential-requirement
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes — an 'Electrical Schematic Diagram' showing existing and proposed electric, conduit, wire, panels, etc. is required
Why the confidence is not higherItem 4 of the Electrical Checklist.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
An Electrical Load Calculations form is required; it is a general service-load form (not PV-string-specific)
Why the confidence is not higherItem 9 of the Generator Checklist references the 'Electrical Load Calculations form,' and the published form itself is scoped to general/appliance loads, not PV string/conductor sizing specifically.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/electrical-load-calculations-form
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No numeric $ or size threshold is published. Martin's own 'Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit' lets a licensed inspector, PE, or architect certify the roof attachment in lieu of a project-specific structural PE stamp; where plans exceed manufacturer product-approval data, a sealed structural evaluation is implied by the general 'Complete Set of Sealed Plans' requirement (Ch. 471/481 F.S.).
Why the confidence is not higherNo Martin document states a threshold; inferred by combining the Solar Panel Roof Attachment Affidavit with the Miscellaneous Structure Checklist's generic sealed-plans clause.
department form (inferred) checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resource/solar-panel-roof-attachment-inspection-affidavit
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No numeric threshold published; 'Engineered Drawings...certified with a raised seal by a Florida licensed Engineer' is listed as a standing item (not threshold-gated) on the Electrical Checklist
Why the confidence is not higherItem 3 of the Electrical Checklist, applicable generally rather than at a stated dollar/size trigger.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Valuation-tiered: $75 building fee + $25 plan review under $25,000; $100 + $100 from $25,001–$50,000; $250 + $200 from $50,001–$150,000; 0.20% + 0.20% (or 0.18% above $500,000) of construction cost above that — plus $75 per inspection. If a Private Provider is used for plan review/inspection, residential plan-review and inspection fees are reduced 100%.
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent published fee schedule, effective 1 Jul 2026; does not break out a PV-specific line, so a typical residential PV job (commonly $15k–$40k+) would fall in the $25,001–$50,000 tier or higher depending on system cost.
published fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/permit-fees
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation (tiered on cost of construction, with the private-provider route zeroing residential plan-review/inspection fees)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule is structured entirely by construction-cost bracket, not per-kW or per-panel.
published fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/permit-fees
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes — a separate 'Plan Review' fee line exists at every cost tier, distinct from the 'Building Fee'
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists Building Fee, Plan Review, and Inspections as three distinct line items in every construction-cost bracket.
published fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/permit-fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
No Martin-specific number published; the binding statutory cap is FS 553.792: 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical work under $15,000, otherwise 30 business days (structures <7,500 sq ft), with a 10-business-day cap on review of resubmitted revisions.
Why the confidence is not higherState law (post-HB 803) governs turnaround for all Florida local governments including Martin; no county-published SLA number was found on martin.fl.us beyond this statutory floor/ceiling.
state statute checked 2026-09-11 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0553/Sections/0553.792.html
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
At least 1 year (365 days) for a county-issued single-family-dwelling permit (state-law floor); Martin's own process separately treats an un-issued APPLICATION as abandoned after 180 days (FBC 105.3.2), with 90-day extensions available, and offers a Permit Extension/Renewal Request form (3–5 business day processing) for an issued permit that has stalled.
Why the confidence is not higherFS 125.56(4)(d) sets the 1-year floor for a county; Martin's own Permit Extension Request form cites FBC 105.3.2/105.4.1 for the separate application-abandonment and inactive-permit renewal process.
department form + state statute checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resource/permit-extension-request-formpdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Accela Citizen Access (ACA) Portal, paired with the ePermitHub 'Digital Plan Room' for electronic plan review
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's 'Apply for a Building Permit' page names both by name as its current system.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/apply-building-permit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApplication, plan submission/review (Digital Plan Room), and inspection scheduling are all described as done through the ACA portal; no in-person-only step identified for a standard residential permit.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/apply-building-permit
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Florida Power & Light (FPL)
Why the confidence is not higherMartin County's own 'Utilities and Solid Waste' department page covers only water/sewer/solid waste and never mentions electric service, consistent with electric being provided by an investor-owned utility rather than the county; confirmed against FPL's own net-metering/interconnection documents, which are the applicable technical source for this territory. A direct city-side statement naming FPL for Martin County specifically was not found today (PowerToChoose was not used per instructions).
utility's own page + absence in county utility scope checked 2026-09-11 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit / parallel — FPL will not grant Permission to Operate until the customer provides proof that the local building official has inspected and certified the installation
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's Tier 1 and Tier 3 Net Metering Interconnection Agreements, §3.4/3.5: 'The Customer agrees to provide Local Building Code Official inspection and certification of installation... has been permitted, has been approved.'
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/clean-energy/net-metering/pdfs/net-metering-tier1.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No — not required as a county permitting precondition
Why the confidence is not higherFS 163.04 bars a county ordinance from prohibiting solar installation and bars an HOA deed restriction from prohibiting it (an HOA may only control roof orientation/placement); no Martin permit document requires HOA sign-off as a submittal item.
state statute checked 2026-09-11 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0100-0199/0163/Sections/0163.04.html
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMartin County Building Department checklists/forms pages (BuildingPermitChecklists, building-department-forms) and the Growth Management Department page; Martin's Municode-hosted Land Development Regulations / Code of Ordinances could not be reached (library.municode.com/fl/martin_county returned HTTP 403 to a direct fetch; the municode API was proven live with a positive control against Hernando County's known-good endpoint (Jobs/latest/10731, HTTP 200) but repeated attempts to discover Martin's own client/product ID all returned 404).
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No separate 'windstorm certification' step for residential PV; standard wind-load design-pressure review and the FL Product Approval (61G20-3 F.A.C.) system are folded into the ordinary structural plan review
Why the confidence is not higherMartin's Single-Family Plan Review Checklist requires 'Design wind load information: basic wind speed, exposure, internal pressure coefficient' and a 'Product Approval Affidavit' as line items within the ordinary review, not as a separate certification track; Martin is outside the Miami-Dade/Broward HVHZ.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/single-family-plan-review-checklist
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode retrieval attempt as Q25 — Martin's zoning/LDR text on Special Use Permit or Council approval triggers for residential PV could not be reached.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode retrieval attempt as Q25; also checked FPL's net-metering agreements, which impose only a utility-side 2 MW aggregate interconnection cap per meter, not a county zoning-based system-size cap, so that number was not used to answer a zoning question.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC 92% · department form
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 95% · department checklist
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition (2023), based on NFPA 1 and NFPA 101 with Florida amendments, effective 31 Dec 2023 76% · state fire marshal page
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023), including the 2020 NEC as adopted electrical standard 90% · department checklist
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for Martin County on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown per NEC 2020 §690.12, since NEC 2020 is the electrical code Martin has adopted (via FBC 8th Ed. 2023) 75% · inferred from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No PV-specific placard list published by Martin; NEC 2020 labeling (e.g., §690.13, 690.56, 705.12 disconnect marking) applies by default through code adoption 58% · absence + inferred from adopted code
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No — Martin does not publish its own placard wording 65% · absence, documented
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — FPL requires a manual disconnect switch mounted adjacent to its meter socket, and if that is not practical, a 'permanent weather-proof plaque adjacent to FPL's meter socket indicating the location of the manual disconnect switch' 82% · utility interconnection agreement
- Where must the labels be placed? The FPL-required manual disconnect switch/plaque must sit adjacent to the FPL meter socket (or, if relocated, the plaque must be posted at the meter socket identifying the disconnect's actual location); no separate AHJ-specified label-placement rule was found. 75% · utility interconnection agreement
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Mounted separate from, but immediately adjacent to, the FPL meter socket (with a location plaque at the meter if relocated elsewhere) 88% · utility interconnection agreement
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No PV-specific approved-equipment list. Florida's product-approval system (Rule 61G20-3, F.A.C.) that Martin's own Product Approval Checklist implements covers building-envelope items (windows, doors, garage doors, roofing, skylights, shutters, panel walls) — PV modules/inverters are not one of its listed categories. 58% · department form
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes for ground-mount racking — Martin routes ground-mounted accessory equipment through its 'Miscellaneous Residential Structure Checklist,' which requires a survey/site plan with setbacks, but no document names PV ground mounts specifically. 50% · department checklist (inferred)
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No numeric spacing table published. Martin's own affidavit requires only that 'the solar panel roof installation was completed in accordance with the current edition of the Florida Building Code and the approved construction documents' — i.e., judged against the approved (usually manufacturer-engineered) plans rather than a prescriptive county spacing rule. 55% · department form
20 questions answered against Martin County’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC
Why the confidence is not higherMartin's own Electrical Riser Diagram form states: 'For any other electrical applications apply Florida Building Code 107.3.5 Electrical or NEC 2020,' adopted as part of FBC 8th Edition (2023).
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/electrical-riser-diagram-form
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherCited on every checklist reviewed (Electrical, Generator, Miscellaneous Structure, Single-Family Plan Review).
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition (2023), based on NFPA 1 and NFPA 101 with Florida amendments, effective 31 Dec 2023
Why the confidence is not higherState Fire Marshal's own page states the current statewide edition; this binds Martin as a Florida AHJ, but a Martin-Fire-Rescue-specific adoption statement was not separately located.
state fire marshal page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/sfm/bfp/florida-fire-prevention-code
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched martin.fl.us site search for 'local amendments' (0 real content hits beyond the site's global acronym glossary) and reviewed every checklist/form found, all of which cite only the base FBC 8th Ed. (2023)/NEC 2020 without naming any local amendment; could not reach the Municode-hosted ordinances to check for a formal local-amendments ordinance.
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023), including the 2020 NEC as adopted electrical standard
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent citation across all Martin Building Department checklists and forms reviewed.
department checklist checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedElectrical Checklist, Electrical Load Calculations form, Electrical Riser Diagram form — none states a local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade rule beyond citing NEC 2020/FBC 107.3.5 generally.
https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/electrical-riser-diagram-form
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No numeric spacing table published. Martin's own affidavit requires only that 'the solar panel roof installation was completed in accordance with the current edition of the Florida Building Code and the approved construction documents' — i.e., judged against the approved (usually manufacturer-engineered) plans rather than a prescriptive county spacing rule.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the county's Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit; no separate spacing ordinance found.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resource/solar-panel-roof-attachment-inspection-affidavit
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMartin County Fire Rescue / Fire Prevention pages (FireRescue, FirePrevention, FirePermits) and the Fire Prevention Fee Schedule PDF — none addresses PV ridge setback or fire-access pathway requirements; Fire Prevention's own fee schedule has zero hits for 'solar,' 'photovoltaic,' or 'electrical' (the last suggests its scope is nonresidential life-safety systems, not residential PV, so this absence is weaker evidence and is reported as such).
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown per NEC 2020 §690.12, since NEC 2020 is the electrical code Martin has adopted (via FBC 8th Ed. 2023)
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed NEC 2020 adoption (Q29); no Martin-specific document discusses rapid shutdown directly, so this is the code requirement that follows from the adopted edition rather than a locally stated rule.
inferred from adopted code edition checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/electrical-riser-diagram-form
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No PV-specific placard list published by Martin; NEC 2020 labeling (e.g., §690.13, 690.56, 705.12 disconnect marking) applies by default through code adoption
Why the confidence is not higherNo dedicated solar packet or sign template exists on martin.fl.us (confirmed by full checklist listing with no solar entry); the placards that would be required are those the adopted NEC 2020 itself calls for.
absence + inferred from adopted code checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/BuildingPermitChecklists
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No — Martin does not publish its own placard wording
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the full checklist list, the forms page, and the fee schedule for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' text; none carries custom placard wording. NEC-standard wording would apply by default.
absence, documented checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/building-department-forms
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull checklist listing, forms page, and fee schedule — no letter-height/colour/material specification found for any placard; only the generic NEC-2020-via-code-adoption default would apply.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Prevention pages and the Fire Prevention Fee Schedule — no site-plan/facility-map placard (NEC 690.56(C)/rapid-shutdown map) requirement document found for Martin specifically.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — FPL requires a manual disconnect switch mounted adjacent to its meter socket, and if that is not practical, a 'permanent weather-proof plaque adjacent to FPL's meter socket indicating the location of the manual disconnect switch'
Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tier 1/2/3 Net Metering Interconnection Agreements, §5.2.
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/clean-energy/net-metering/pdfs/net-metering-tier1.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
The FPL-required manual disconnect switch/plaque must sit adjacent to the FPL meter socket (or, if relocated, the plaque must be posted at the meter socket identifying the disconnect's actual location); no separate AHJ-specified label-placement rule was found.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tier 1/2/3 Net Metering Interconnection Agreements, §5.
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/clean-energy/net-metering/pdfs/net-metering-tier1.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No PV-specific approved-equipment list. Florida's product-approval system (Rule 61G20-3, F.A.C.) that Martin's own Product Approval Checklist implements covers building-envelope items (windows, doors, garage doors, roofing, skylights, shutters, panel walls) — PV modules/inverters are not one of its listed categories.
Why the confidence is not higherReviewed Martin's own Product Approval Checklist form; its category list does not include solar/PV equipment.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/martin-county-product-approval-list-form
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Prevention page's 'Lithium-ion Battery Safety' item (consumer-device oriented — phones, e-bikes — not ESS/PV-specific) and the Fire Prevention Fee Schedule (no battery/ESS line); no Martin-specific residential battery/ESS ordinance or permit guidance located.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Fire Prevention pages and fee schedule as Q45 — no separate ESS permit or inspection type is listed.
https://www.martin.fl.us/resource/martin-county-fire-prevention-fee-schedule
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes for ground-mount racking — Martin routes ground-mounted accessory equipment through its 'Miscellaneous Residential Structure Checklist,' which requires a survey/site plan with setbacks, but no document names PV ground mounts specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the checklist's general scope (structures other than the primary dwelling requiring setback/survey review); not confirmed PV-specific.
department checklist (inferred) checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-miscellaneous-structure-residential-requirement
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Mounted separate from, but immediately adjacent to, the FPL meter socket (with a location plaque at the meter if relocated elsewhere)
Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tier 1/2/3 Net Metering Interconnection Agreements, §5.2.
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/clean-energy/net-metering/pdfs/net-metering-tier1.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Accela Citizen Access) or Phone/Text (SMS to 202-937-0892) 88% · department page
- How much notice is required? No fixed 'X business days' notice is published; texting instructions state that if no date is specified, the inspection defaults to the following working day — implying effectively next-business-day scheduling is normal. 62% · department form
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? All-day window only — no AM/PM slot is offered 72% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes (with an optional Delegated route) 78% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? A Florida-licensed Private Provider (professional engineer, architect, or licensed building inspector) engaged by the owner/contractor under FS 553.791; for roof-mounted PV attachment specifically, Martin's own Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit lets a 'licensed inspector, Engineer, or Architect' certify the work in lieu of a county inspection. 85% · department form
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Not published for PV specifically. By analogy to the Electrical/Generator checklists: final electrical inspection is required, plus (for roof-mount) either a county roof-attachment inspection or the Solar Panel Roof Attachment Affidavit filed in lieu of it; a rough-in stage would apply only if new service equipment is installed. 55% · department checklist (inferred)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 82% · absence, documented with controls
- What must be on site at inspection? Not published specifically for PV. Standard FBC practice (Ch. 1, §105.7) requires the approved permit card/placard and approved plans to be available at the job site; no Martin-specific PV job-site posting list was found. 58% · inferred from adopted code
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Not stated explicitly, but implied — final electrical inspections generally confirm NEC/FBC compliance, which includes equipment listing and required labeling 55% · inferred
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (inspection approval/permit closure) — a new Certificate of Occupancy is not typically issued for PV added to an existing single-family home 55% · inferred
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer, on the Customer's behalf — FPL's own tariff places the notification duty on 'the Customer,' who must provide proof of the local building official's inspection/certification before FPL will energize/allow parallel operation 75% · utility interconnection agreement
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $75 (same as the standard per-inspection fee) 65% · published fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Via the county's 'Revisions – Corrections Request Form,' checked for Condition of Approval, Correction (permit denied), or Revision (change to an issued permit); resubmittals are cleared by the plan reviewer, subject to FS 553.792's 10-business-day review cap on revisions. 78% · department form
14 questions answered against Martin County’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Accela Citizen Access) or Phone/Text (SMS to 202-937-0892)
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's 'Schedule a Building Inspection' page walks through booking in the ACA portal; a separate department PDF gives full instructions for booking, rescheduling, cancelling, or checking results by text.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/schedule-building-inspection
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
No fixed 'X business days' notice is published; texting instructions state that if no date is specified, the inspection defaults to the following working day — implying effectively next-business-day scheduling is normal.
Why the confidence is not higherInstructions for Utilizing Texting for Inspections PDF, item 4.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resource/instructions-utilizing-texting-inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
All-day window only — no AM/PM slot is offered
Why the confidence is not higherACA scheduling instructions on the county's own page: 'Pick the day you want the inspection scheduled for, click All Day, then Continue.'
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/schedule-building-inspection
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes (with an optional Delegated route)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department's own 'About' page lists inspections as one of its 5 core functions; owner/contractor may instead elect a state-licensed Private Provider under FS 553.791, which Martin's own Notice-to-Building-Official form and Private Provider Instructions formalize.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/departments/about/about-building-department
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
A Florida-licensed Private Provider (professional engineer, architect, or licensed building inspector) engaged by the owner/contractor under FS 553.791; for roof-mounted PV attachment specifically, Martin's own Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit lets a 'licensed inspector, Engineer, or Architect' certify the work in lieu of a county inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own Notice to Building Official of Use of Private Provider form and Solar Panel Roof Attachment Inspection Affidavit.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resource/solar-panel-roof-attachment-inspection-affidavit
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Not published for PV specifically. By analogy to the Electrical/Generator checklists: final electrical inspection is required, plus (for roof-mount) either a county roof-attachment inspection or the Solar Panel Roof Attachment Affidavit filed in lieu of it; a rough-in stage would apply only if new service equipment is installed.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred; no PV-specific inspection sequence document exists on martin.fl.us.
department checklist (inferred) checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedElectrical Checklist, Generator Checklist — neither states whether a rough-in/mid-installation inspection is required specifically for PV as distinct from a service change.
https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Not stated explicitly, but implied — final electrical inspections generally confirm NEC/FBC compliance, which includes equipment listing and required labeling
Why the confidence is not higherNo Martin document states this directly for PV; inferred from the general duty of a final electrical inspection under the adopted NEC 2020/FBC 8th Ed.
inferred checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull listing of Martin's ~60 named building-permit checklists contains no 'solar' or 'photovoltaic' entry (positive control 'electrical' = 6 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, confirming the search itself works).
absence, documented with controls checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/BuildingPermitChecklists
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Not published specifically for PV. Standard FBC practice (Ch. 1, §105.7) requires the approved permit card/placard and approved plans to be available at the job site; no Martin-specific PV job-site posting list was found.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral FBC 8th Ed. requirement inferred; no Martin-specific PV job-site document located.
inferred from adopted code checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/checklist-electrical-service
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$75 (same as the standard per-inspection fee)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'Inspections $75 each' at every cost tier and separately states 'Building Permit reinspection are as established under Florida Statute 553' without giving a different number, implying the standard $75 rate applies to a reinspection.
published fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/permit-fees
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Via the county's 'Revisions – Corrections Request Form,' checked for Condition of Approval, Correction (permit denied), or Revision (change to an issued permit); resubmittals are cleared by the plan reviewer, subject to FS 553.792's 10-business-day review cap on revisions.
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own Revisions-Corrections Request Form.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/resources/revisions-and-corrections-form
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (inspection approval/permit closure) — a new Certificate of Occupancy is not typically issued for PV added to an existing single-family home
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from general Florida practice for accessory-equipment permits on existing residences; no Martin document uses this term explicitly for PV.
inferred checked 2026-09-11 https://www.martin.fl.us/martin-county-services/schedule-building-inspection
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer, on the Customer's behalf — FPL's own tariff places the notification duty on 'the Customer,' who must provide proof of the local building official's inspection/certification before FPL will energize/allow parallel operation
Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tier 1/3 Net Metering Interconnection Agreements, §3.4/3.5 ('The Customer agrees to provide Local Building Code Official inspection and certification of installation').
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/clean-energy/net-metering/pdfs/net-metering-tier1.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 65%
No — Martin does not publish its own placard wording
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 75%
The FPL-required manual disconnect switch/plaque must sit adjacent to the FPL meter socket (or, if relocated, the plaque must be posted at the meter socket identifying the disconnect's actual location); no separate AHJ-specified label-placement rule was found.
What the utility wants on top 82%
Yes — FPL requires a manual disconnect switch mounted adjacent to its meter socket, and if that is not practical, a 'permanent weather-proof plaque adjacent to FPL's meter socket indicating the location of the manual disconnect switch'
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.