Nassau County
Nassau County
State of Florida
Nassau County is a county authority in the State of Florida, serving 90,352 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Nassau County against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Nassau County is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical, for the unincorporated area of Nassau County only. The Nassau County Building Department (Charles Barr, Building Official) issues both Building and Electrical permits, performs its own plan review, and performs its own inspections for unincorporated addresses.
- Overridden by
- Three incorporated municipalities inside Nassau County each run their OWN building department and are NOT served by the County: City of Fernandina Beach (own Building Department, 204 Ash Street, migrating to CityView permitting software, fbfl.us/79/Permits), Town of Callahan (own Building & Zoning Administrator, own permit forms/fee schedule/contractor registration, townofcallahan-fl.gov/zoning-permits), and Town of Hilliard (own certified Building Official Bryan Higginbotham, own Building & Zoning Department, townofhilliard.com/town-hall/page/building-official-permitting). This was checked directly against each municipality's own site on 12 Sep 2026 — this authority's rules apply ONLY to unincorporated Nassau County addresses. Separately, FL HB 803 (Ch. 2026-63, in force 1 Jul 2026) sets a statewide 1-year permit-validity floor and 5/30-business-day plan-review clocks (F.S. 553.792) that bind the County; F.S. 553.791 lets an applicant opt into private-provider plan review/inspection instead of the County's own.
- Why not higher
- Nassau County Building Department's own page states its jurisdiction is 'throughout the unincorporated areas of Nassau County'; each municipality's own site (fetched directly) confirms an independent building official/department rather than reliance on the County, matching the brief's warning that small-town exceptions are exactly where the pattern breaks
- Permit required
- Yes85%
- Plan review
- No County-stated number; the County's own permitting procedures point to the state clock: F.S. 553.791/553.792 and 2023 FBC §105.3.4, i.e.60%
- Portal
- Munis Citizen Self Service (Tyler Technologies) is the current live portal for account access, online inspection scheduling and online payment;80%
- Electrical code
- 202095%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Munis Self Service, online) or Phone88%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate Q4 Plan review — No County-stated number; the County's own permitting procedures point to the state clock: F.S. 553.791/553.792 and 2023 FBC §105.3.4, i.e. Q18 Where you file — Munis Citizen Self Service (Tyler Technologies) is the current live portal for account access, online inspection scheduling and online payment; Q20
- Permit required
- Yes85% source
- Plan review turnaround
- No County-stated number; the County's own permitting procedures point to the state clock: F.S. 553.791/553.792 and 2023 FBC §105.3.4, i.e.60% source
- Key document
- county permit application form + bundled utility correspondence cited by 2 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — for unincorporated Nassau County only 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 92% · permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 85% · adopting notice + exemption form
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate 80% · fee schedule + permit application forms
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 65% · department page (DRC scope)
- Is there a historic-district review? No — at the County level. Historic-district review exists only inside the City of Fernandina Beach (a separate AHJ), whose Building Department requires a Certificate of Approval for exterior work in its Historic Districts before permitting 65% · department page + comparison to Fernandina Beach permits page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate certification beyond standard Florida Product Approval; a wind-borne debris region does apply along the coast 58% · county wind zone map (OCR'd)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, for residential rooftop — Council/conditional-use approval is required only for utility-scale 'Solar Farms' (defined as multi-acre commercial PV arrays), added as a conditional or permitted use in specific zoning districts by Ordinances 2025-021 and 2025-022 (adopted 8/8/2025); a rooftop PV system on an existing single-family home is an accessory use and not swept into that definition 75% · adopted zoning ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No system-size cap found for residential/accessory rooftop PV; the only size-related solar provision in the Land Development Code targets commercial 'Solar Farms', not accessory residential systems 62% · adopted zoning ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 88% · permit application forms
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes, in substance — a state DBPR/ECLB certification or a Nassau-issued Certificate of Competency is required, and the County maintains a specific local 'Solar Contractor' license category 75% · contractor licensing notice
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, with a wiring carve-out 65% · permit application form (reprints F.S. 489.103(7)(a))
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? General building-permit submittal set (no PV-specific list published): completed Permit Application + Sufficiency Checklist; Structural plans (signed/sealed) if applicable; Architectural plans if required; Truss engineering if applicable; Florida Energy Forms/Manual J or N; Florida Product Approval info per F.S. 553.842; Owner-Builder Affidavit if self-permitting; Notice of Commencement if job cost > $5,000 72% · sufficiency checklist + digital permitting procedures
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only: one PDF per document type (Application, Structural Engineering, Architectural Plans, Truss Engineering, Energy Forms, Product Approval), each digitally signed/sealed and unlocked, emailed to permitting@nassaucountyfl.com (transitioning to the Accela Citizen Access portal) 80% · department procedure notice
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — an 8½x11 site plan, per the general sufficiency checklist; no PV-specific content requirement (e.g. array layout, setbacks) is separately spelled out 65% · sufficiency checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Munis Citizen Self Service (Tyler Technologies) is the current live portal for account access, online inspection scheduling and online payment; the County announced Accela Citizen Access (ACA) will become its 'official Online Permit Portal' starting spring 2026, but as of this check (12 Sep 2026) the Permits page still links only Munis Self Service and the Nov 2025 notice describes email-based application submittal as the interim step, with no live ACA link found on the County site 80% · portal landing page + transition notice
- Can the whole application be completed online? No — applications are currently submitted by email as PDF attachments (not typed into an online form), and Owner/Builder applicants must still appear in person to sign the Disclosure Statement even under the new digital process 82% · department procedure notice
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Likely yes for a Building-Permit filing (plan review = 40% of the Building Permit fee, or $10/sheet for preliminary review); likely folded-in / not separately itemized if filed as the flat amperage-based standalone Electrical Permit, which carries no plan-review line 55% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? No County-stated number; the County's own permitting procedures point to the state clock: F.S. 553.791/553.792 and 2023 FBC §105.3.4, i.e. commencing once the sufficiency checklist and any required Development Services/Fire/Planning/Stormwater approvals are complete 60% · department procedure notice citing state statute
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 1 year from date of issuance for a permit issued by a county for a single-family dwelling, per F.S. 125.56(4)(d) as created by Ch. 2026-63 (HB 803), in force 1 Jul 2026 72% · enrolled state statute (Ch. 2026-63)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Split by location — FPL, Florida Public Utilities (FPU) and Okefenokee REMC (a rural electric cooperative) all serve parts of unincorporated Nassau County 72% · county permit application form + bundled utility correspondence
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit — the Building Department's own release/final inspection precedes utility power connection 68% · county ordinance/bulletin (OCR'd, image-only PDF) + inspection types list
28 questions answered against Nassau County’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — for unincorporated Nassau County only
Why the confidence is not higherNassau County Building Department's own page states it processes permits, plan review and inspections 'throughout the unincorporated areas of Nassau County'. The three incorporated municipalities (Fernandina Beach, Callahan, Hilliard) each run their own building department and are NOT served by the County (see jurisdiction block)
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/136/Building-Department
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe County's own Electrical Permit Application (contractor and homeowner versions) and Residential Building Application both issue from and are stamped by the Nassau County Building Department, which performs its own plan review and inspections for the unincorporated area; nothing is delegated to a private provider by default (private-provider review is opt-in under F.S. 553.791, and a Private-Provider Registration/Compliance Affidavit exists for that route)
permit application form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26132/Electrical-Permit---Homeowner-102025
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFlorida Building Code 105.1 (adopted 8th Ed. 2023, in force per the County's own 'Current Codes in Effect' notice) requires a permit for any electrical installation; the County's own $7,500 minor-work exemption form explicitly EXCLUDES electrical work from the exemption, which forecloses a no-permit reading for PV (PV is an electrical installation)
adopting notice + exemption form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/4380/Current-Florida-Building-Codes-in-Effect-1012024
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate
Why the confidence is not higherNassau maintains a standalone 'Electrical Permit Application' (contractor and homeowner forms) distinct from the Residential Building Application; the fee schedule states 'Separate permits are required for the electrical, plumbing, and mechanical installations.' For a pure roof-mount PV retrofit this is filed as the standalone Electrical Permit; if filed alongside a re-roof or structural change it would ride with that Building Permit
fee schedule + permit application forms checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/23522/Fee-Schedule
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNassau publishes two parallel forms — 'ELECTRICAL PERMIT APPLICATION – FOR CONTRACTORS' and 'ELECTRICAL PERMIT APPLICATION – FOR HOMEOWNERS' — meaning either a licensed electrical contractor or, via the owner-builder route, the homeowner personally, may pull the permit
permit application forms checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26131/Electrical-Permit---Contractor--102025
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes, in substance — a state DBPR/ECLB certification or a Nassau-issued Certificate of Competency is required, and the County maintains a specific local 'Solar Contractor' license category
Why the confidence is not higherThe County's 'Important Notice to Contractors' (07/16/2025) lists 'Solar contractor' as a Division II CILB-mirrored category it continues to license locally via Certificate of Competency (state pre-emption under HB735/1383/SB1142 having been repeatedly delayed to 7/1/2025); the Electrical Permit Application requires a 'State Certification or Registration #' field before a permit issues. A holder of a valid state ECLB electrical contractor certification can generally also pull the permit without separate county competency licensure, so the requirement is conditional on license type, not absolute
contractor licensing notice checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30152/Local-Licenses-Available-as-of-July-1-2025---07-17-2025
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes, with a wiring carve-out
Why the confidence is not higherThe Owner-Builder Affidavit printed on Nassau's own Electrical Permit-Homeowner form reprints F.S. 489.103(7)(a)3: a homeowner may act as owner-builder to install/uninstall/replace solar panels, but 'must utilize a licensed electrical contractor to effectuate the wiring of the solar panels, including any interconnection.' That statutory exemption is itself conditioned on the county/municipality 'participating in a United States Department of Energy SunShot Initiative: Rooftop Solar Challenge grant' — a program from the early 2010s that I could not confirm Nassau still formally participates in, which is why this isn't scored higher
permit application form (reprints F.S. 489.103(7)(a)) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26132/Electrical-Permit---Homeowner-102025
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
General building-permit submittal set (no PV-specific list published): completed Permit Application + Sufficiency Checklist; Structural plans (signed/sealed) if applicable; Architectural plans if required; Truss engineering if applicable; Florida Energy Forms/Manual J or N; Florida Product Approval info per F.S. 553.842; Owner-Builder Affidavit if self-permitting; Notice of Commencement if job cost > $5,000
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the County's generic 'Permit Application Sufficiency Checklist' (effective 1/1/2025, marked 'as applicable') plus the itemized email-submittal list in the November 2025 Digital Permitting Procedures notice; Nassau publishes no PV-specific submittal checklist, so this is the closest documented answer, not a solar-specific one
sufficiency checklist + digital permitting procedures checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26111/Residential-Building-Application-092025
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only: one PDF per document type (Application, Structural Engineering, Architectural Plans, Truss Engineering, Energy Forms, Product Approval), each digitally signed/sealed and unlocked, emailed to permitting@nassaucountyfl.com (transitioning to the Accela Citizen Access portal)
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the County's 'Digital Permitting Procedures' notice, revised 11/2025, which states as-of-January-2025 processing rules and is the current (checked 12 Sep 2026) instruction on the Permits page
department procedure notice checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30873/Digital-Permitting-Procedures-
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — an 8½x11 site plan, per the general sufficiency checklist; no PV-specific content requirement (e.g. array layout, setbacks) is separately spelled out
Why the confidence is not higherThe generic Sufficiency Checklist line item is only 'Site Plan (8 1/2 x 11)' marked as-applicable; Nassau has no solar-specific site-plan content requirement that I could find
sufficiency checklist checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26111/Residential-Building-Application-092025
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedElectrical Permit Application (contractor and homeowner), Residential Building sufficiency checklist, Digital Permitting Procedures notice, and site search for 'one-line' / 'diagram' — none call out a one-line or three-line diagram requirement for PV specifically
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26131/Electrical-Permit---Contractor--102025
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q11, plus fee schedule and energy-forms application — no mention of string or conductor calculations; Nassau publishes no dedicated PV submittal checklist
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26134/Energy-Forms---Residential-1012024
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSufficiency checklist requires 'Full Set of Signed and Sealed Structural Plans' generically 'as applicable' with no stated valuation, span, or attachment-point threshold specific to rooftop PV racking; no separate structural bulletin for solar found via site search
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26111/Residential-Building-Application-092025
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo electrical PE-stamp threshold is stated anywhere in the Electrical Permit Application, fee schedule, or bulletins; Nassau's electrical applications only ask for a contractor's state certification/registration number, not a PE seal
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26131/Electrical-Permit---Contractor--102025
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNassau's 'Fee Schedule' (base document dated Effective 11/1/09, still linked as the current Fee Schedule from the Permits page, with an appended ICC Building Valuation Data table dated August 2025) has an itemized 'ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES' table by amperage and a separate valuation-based 'BUILDING PERMITS' table, but no line item for photovoltaic/solar; positive control 'electrical' and 'permit' both present, fabricated control 'zzqqx' absent, confirming the search of the document is sound and the omission is real
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/23522/Fee-Schedule
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee schedule as Q15 — without a PV line item I cannot say with confidence whether the County would charge a residential PV job under the amperage-based Electrical Permit Fee table or the valuation-based Building Permit table; both exist as live schedules
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/23522/Fee-Schedule
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Likely yes for a Building-Permit filing (plan review = 40% of the Building Permit fee, or $10/sheet for preliminary review); likely folded-in / not separately itemized if filed as the flat amperage-based standalone Electrical Permit, which carries no plan-review line
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule states 'Building plan review shall be calculated using 40% of the Permit Fee' under the Building Permits section, but the separate Electrical Permit Fees table (the route a pure PV retrofit would normally take) has no plan-review line at all — the answer genuinely depends on which permit type the job is filed under, which Nassau does not specify for PV
fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/23522/Fee-Schedule
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
No County-stated number; the County's own permitting procedures point to the state clock: F.S. 553.791/553.792 and 2023 FBC §105.3.4, i.e. commencing once the sufficiency checklist and any required Development Services/Fire/Planning/Stormwater approvals are complete
Why the confidence is not higherNassau's 'Digital Permitting Procedures' notice cites F.S. 553.791, 553.792 and FBC 105.3.4 as governing the review-timeframe clock but states no county-specific number of days for residential PV specifically; F.S. 553.792 (as amended by 2026 HB803/Ch.2026-63) sets 5 business days for an existing single-family dwelling's electrical permit under $15,000 and 30 business days otherwise, and most residential PV jobs exceed $15,000
department procedure notice citing state statute checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30873/Digital-Permitting-Procedures-
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
1 year from date of issuance for a permit issued by a county for a single-family dwelling, per F.S. 125.56(4)(d) as created by Ch. 2026-63 (HB 803), in force 1 Jul 2026
Why the confidence is not higherI could not find a Nassau-specific ordinance stating a different (e.g. 180-day) validity period; the County's own 'Building Permit Exemption Request' form is dated 7/1/2026 and several 2026 bulletins show active implementation of HB803, but no Nassau document restates the 1-year figure in its own voice — this is the enacted statute directly binding the County, not a locally-published number
enrolled state statute (Ch. 2026-63) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2026/803/BillText/er/PDF
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Munis Citizen Self Service (Tyler Technologies) is the current live portal for account access, online inspection scheduling and online payment; the County announced Accela Citizen Access (ACA) will become its 'official Online Permit Portal' starting spring 2026, but as of this check (12 Sep 2026) the Permits page still links only Munis Self Service and the Nov 2025 notice describes email-based application submittal as the interim step, with no live ACA link found on the County site
Why the confidence is not higherMunis Self Service link and instructions are live on the current Permitting/Inspection Request page; the ACA transition plan is verbatim from the County's own 'Transition to Electronic Permitting' notice dated 11/2025, which set a spring-2026 target that this check could not independently confirm went live (a guessed Accela tenant URL for 'NASSAU' resolved to an unrelated demo instance, not Nassau County's)
portal landing page + transition notice checked 2026-09-12 https://nassaucitizens.munisselfservice.com/citizens/default.aspx
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No — applications are currently submitted by email as PDF attachments (not typed into an online form), and Owner/Builder applicants must still appear in person to sign the Disclosure Statement even under the new digital process
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the County's 'Transition to Electronic Permitting' notice (11/2025): 'beginning January 5, 2026, the Building Department will begin accepting permit applications electronically only, via email... NOTE: Owner/Builder Applicants will apply online, however, you MUST appear IN PERSON to sign Owner/Builder Disclosure Statement.' The promised Accela self-service portal (which would allow full online submission) was not confirmed live as of this check
department procedure notice checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30877/Transition-to-Electronic-Permitting-Notice-11-07-2025
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Split by location — FPL, Florida Public Utilities (FPU) and Okefenokee REMC (a rural electric cooperative) all serve parts of unincorporated Nassau County
Why the confidence is not higherNassau's own Electrical Permit Application (both contractor and homeowner versions) has a checkbox field 'Power Company: FPL ___ FPU ___ REA ___' confirming three utility options are routinely encountered by the County's own Building Department; a 2008 letter from Okefenokee Rural Electric Membership Corporation to 'Nassau County Permitting Department' regarding meter-pole clearance (with an OREMC branch office at PO Box 1229, Hilliard, FL 32046, inside Nassau County) is bundled into the County's electrical-contractor packet, corroborating REA=Okefenokee REMC. I could not independently pull FPL's own Communities-Served tariff sheet or JEA's territory map to draw the exact geographic split, hence not scored higher
county permit application form + bundled utility correspondence checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26131/Electrical-Permit---Contractor--102025
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit — the Building Department's own release/final inspection precedes utility power connection
Why the confidence is not higherCounty Ordinance §112.1 (per Bulletin 02-2025, quoting the adopted Florida Building Code Section 112): 'A person shall not make connections from a utility, source of energy, fuel or power to any building or system... for which a permit is required, until released by the building official.' The County's own electrical inspection sequence requires a '260 – Electric Meter Set' inspection (release for power) and a '299 – Electrical Final' before the system may be used, both preceding utility engagement; this is inferred sequencing, not an explicit statement naming solar PTO specifically
county ordinance/bulletin (OCR'd, image-only PDF) + inspection types list checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30079/Bulletin-02-2025---Authority-to-Disconnect-Utilities-7-01-2025
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNassau County does not regulate homeowner associations; residential rooftop PV as an accessory retrofit to an existing single-family dwelling does not appear in the Development Review Committee's scope, which is limited to 'site development plan review' under LDC §5.07 (new development/subdivision-scale projects)
department page (DRC scope) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/1233/Development-Review-Committee-DRC
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No — at the County level. Historic-district review exists only inside the City of Fernandina Beach (a separate AHJ), whose Building Department requires a Certificate of Approval for exterior work in its Historic Districts before permitting
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from Fernandina Beach's own Permits page ('Exterior projects within the City's Historic Districts require receipt of a Certificate of Approval prior to permitting'); Nassau County's own Building Department page and forms contain no historic-district review step for the unincorporated area
department page + comparison to Fernandina Beach permits page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/136/Building-Department
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No separate certification beyond standard Florida Product Approval; a wind-borne debris region does apply along the coast
Why the confidence is not higherThe County's 2023 Wind Zone map (FBC Fig. 1609.3(1)) shows Nassau County spanning roughly the 120-130 mph Vult contour, with the coastal strip within 1 mile of the mean high-water line meeting the ≥130 mph wind-borne-debris trigger under FBC 1609.2; no separate 'windstorm certification' beyond the Product Approval line already on the general sufficiency checklist was found
county wind zone map (OCR'd) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/13320/Wind-Zone-Information-2023
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No, for residential rooftop — Council/conditional-use approval is required only for utility-scale 'Solar Farms' (defined as multi-acre commercial PV arrays), added as a conditional or permitted use in specific zoning districts by Ordinances 2025-021 and 2025-022 (adopted 8/8/2025); a rooftop PV system on an existing single-family home is an accessory use and not swept into that definition
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from Ordinance 2025-022 text: 'Solar Farms consisting of acreage developed with multiple photovoltaic solar panels devoted to the commercial collection and conversion to usable electrical energy' added as a conditional use in Open Rural (and permitted use in Industrial, Heavy) — a definition scoped to commercial/utility arrays, not residential rooftop
adopted zoning ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30278/Ordinance-2025-022
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No system-size cap found for residential/accessory rooftop PV; the only size-related solar provision in the Land Development Code targets commercial 'Solar Farms', not accessory residential systems
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinances 2025-021 (definition of 'Solar energy system') and 2025-022 ('Solar Farms' as a conditional/permitted zoning use) address only utility-scale ground arrays; neither imposes a kW or panel-count cap on an accessory rooftop system on a single-family lot, and no other Nassau document was found doing so
adopted zoning ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30277/Ordinance-2025-021
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 95% · adopting notice + permit application masthead
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) — Building, Residential, Existing Building, Plumbing, Mechanical, Energy Conservation and Fuel Gas volumes all cited as 8th Ed. (2023) 95% · adopting notice
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition (2023) 93% · adopting notice
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, but administrative/zoning amendments rather than technical NEC/PV amendments — e.g. Ord. 2025-023 (adding local Building Official authority to order utility disconnection, FBC §112) and Ords. 2025-021/2025-022 (Land Development Code solar definitions and zoning-use amendments) 60% · adopted county ordinances
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Ed. (2023) + 2020 NEC (NFPA 70) + Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Ed. (2023), as adopted statewide and printed on every County permit application 93% · permit application forms
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for Nassau County on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, by operation of the adopted 2020 NEC (Article 690.12); Nassau publishes no additional local rapid-shutdown bulletin 68% · code adoption (inferred)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for Nassau County on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No county-specific approved-equipment list; the only equipment-listing requirement found is the statewide Florida Product Approval program (F.S. 553.842), which is on the general sufficiency checklist for all building permits 60% · sufficiency checklist + product approval form
20 questions answered against Nassau County’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020
Why the confidence is not higherStated in plain text on the masthead of the County's own Electrical Permit Application (both contractor and homeowner versions): '2020 NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE (NFPA 70) IS IN EFFECT', and repeated on the County's 'Current Codes in Effect January 1st, 2024' notice
adopting notice + permit application masthead checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/4380/Current-Florida-Building-Codes-in-Effect-1012024
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) — Building, Residential, Existing Building, Plumbing, Mechanical, Energy Conservation and Fuel Gas volumes all cited as 8th Ed. (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the County's 'Current Codes In Effect' notice, revised 1/01/2024, and repeated on the Electrical Permit Application masthead
adopting notice checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/4380/Current-Florida-Building-Codes-in-Effect-1012024
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the same County 'Current Codes In Effect' notice and the Electrical Permit Application masthead
adopting notice checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/4380/Current-Florida-Building-Codes-in-Effect-1012024
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, but administrative/zoning amendments rather than technical NEC/PV amendments — e.g. Ord. 2025-023 (adding local Building Official authority to order utility disconnection, FBC §112) and Ords. 2025-021/2025-022 (Land Development Code solar definitions and zoning-use amendments)
Why the confidence is not higherThese are the only Nassau-specific amendment ordinances found touching building/electrical/solar subject matter; no ordinance amending NEC Article 690 or FBC structural/PV provisions specifically was located
adopted county ordinances checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30183/Ordinance-2025-023
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Ed. (2023) + 2020 NEC (NFPA 70) + Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Ed. (2023), as adopted statewide and printed on every County permit application
Why the confidence is not higherSame masthead language repeated across the Electrical Permit Application (contractor and homeowner) and the Residential Building Application
permit application forms checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26131/Electrical-Permit---Contractor--102025
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee schedule, electrical permit applications, bulletins list, and site search for 'busbar' and 'service upgrade' — no Nassau-specific rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing for PV interconnection was found beyond the standard NEC 2020 (which the County has adopted wholesale)
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26131/Electrical-Permit---Contractor--102025
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSufficiency checklist, Florida Product Approval requirement, and bulletins — no Nassau-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule beyond the statewide Florida Product Approval program (F.S. 553.842) was found
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26111/Residential-Building-Application-092025
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'setback' (306 hits, all zoning/agricultural, none fire-pathway/PV), Fire Rescue's Bulletins page, and the Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Ed. adoption notice — no Nassau-published ridge-setback or roof-access-pathway spec for PV was found
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, by operation of the adopted 2020 NEC (Article 690.12); Nassau publishes no additional local rapid-shutdown bulletin
Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown is a 2020 NEC 690.12 requirement and the County has adopted the 2020 NEC wholesale (see Q29); a site search for 'rapid shutdown' returned no Nassau-specific document, so this is code-adoption inference rather than a local statement naming rapid shutdown directly
code adoption (inferred) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/4380/Current-Florida-Building-Codes-in-Effect-1012024
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'placard' (5 hits — only the FBC §105.7 permit-placard/plans-on-site requirement, unrelated to PV) and for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' across Bulletins, Reference Library and Building Department pages — no Nassau-specific PV placard/label spec was found
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no county-authored placard wording for PV was found
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38/39 — no letter-height, colour or material spec for PV labelling was found
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Nassau-specific facility-map/site-plan placard requirement beyond the generic 8.5x11 site plan on the sufficiency checklist (Q10); NEC 705.10 is the applicable code baseline but the County has not published its own supplement
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/26111/Residential-Building-Application-092025
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCould not reach FPL's, FPU's, or Okefenokee REMC's own DG interconnection manuals in this session to check for a utility-specific placard requirement beyond the AHJ's; this is a genuine retrieval gap, not a confirmed absence
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Nassau-specific label-placement spec found (see Q38-40); would default to NEC 690/705 locations absent a local supplement
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No county-specific approved-equipment list; the only equipment-listing requirement found is the statewide Florida Product Approval program (F.S. 553.842), which is on the general sufficiency checklist for all building permits
Why the confidence is not higherSufficiency checklist and Florida Product Approval Specification Sheet form require Product Approval numbers generically, not a Nassau-specific 'approved list' of PV equipment; no such list was found in bulletins or on the Building Department page
sufficiency checklist + product approval form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/18911/Florida-Product-approval-Specification-sheet
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'battery', fire-rescue bulletins, and Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Ed. adoption notice — no Nassau-published battery/ESS installation conditions for residential PV were found; NFPA 855 is incorporated by reference at the state code level but the County has issued nothing of its own
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q45 — no separate ESS permit or inspection type appears in the County's own 'Inspection Types' list (which only lists standard electrical inspection codes 210-299)
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/3430/Inspection-Types
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ordinances 2025-021/2025-022 (define 'Solar energy system' and 'Solar Farm' but only for commercial acreage arrays) and the Residential Building Application's structural-components section — none states whether an accessory residential ground-mount PV array is treated as a structure requiring its own building permit
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30277/Ordinance-2025-021
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCould not reach FPL's, FPU's, or Okefenokee REMC's own DG/interconnection manual in this session to confirm AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter; genuine retrieval gap
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Munis Self Service, online) or Phone 88% · department page
- How much notice is required? By 4:00 PM the business day before the requested inspection (effectively 1 business day) 88% · department page + inspection types document
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated by default — the County performs its own final inspection. An applicant may opt into the private-provider inspection route under F.S. 553.791, using the County's own Private Provider Plan Compliance Affidavit / Registration 82% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? No PV-specific sequence is published. The County's general electrical inspection types (from its 'Inspection Types' list) that would realistically apply to a residential PV retrofit are: 260 – Electric Meter Set (if a new/production meter is set) then 299 – Electrical Final/Change-Out, which is required on all permits 55% · department inspection types list
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No — Nassau has no published PV-specific inspection checklist. It does publish a general 'One and Two Family Dwelling Inspection Checklist,' but that document is dated Revised May 2018 and still cites the 6th Edition (2017) FBC and 2014 NEC — two code cycles out of date — and covers only footings/slab/framing/insulation/final, with nothing on electrical or solar 75% · county inspection checklist (dated/stale)
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved plans and the permit placard/documents posted at the job site for every required inspection 80% · department procedure notice
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, as part of the generic final-inspection standard, but not stated as a PV-specific checklist item 58% · department inspection types list (inferred)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a completed electrical/building final inspection sign-off) rather than a Certificate of Occupancy — a CO is issued only for new construction/occupancy changes, and a PV retrofit on an existing home does not create a new occupancy 58% · department inspection types list (inferred)
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/owner — Nassau's own ordinance frames utility connection as something the applicant must arrange after the County's release, not something the County itself initiates with the utility 50% · county ordinance/bulletin (OCR'd)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $25 first failed inspection; $50 second failed inspection; $200 each subsequent failed inspection 90% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against Nassau County’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Munis Self Service, online) or Phone
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's Permitting/Inspection Request page: 'INSPECTIONS REQUESTED FOR THE FOLLOWING WORKDAY MUST BE SCHEDULED ONLINE OR BY PHONE PRIOR TO 4 PM THE DAY BEFORE'
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/796/PermittingInspection-Request
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
By 4:00 PM the business day before the requested inspection (effectively 1 business day)
Why the confidence is not higherSame source as Q49, repeated verbatim on the Inspection Types document ('INSPECTIONS REQUESTED FOR THE FOLLOWING WORK DAY MUST BE CALLED IN PRIOR TO 4:00 P.M. THE DAY BEFORE')
department page + inspection types document checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/3430/Inspection-Types
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Permitting/Inspection Request page, Online Inspection Request Instructions, and Inspection Types document — none mentions AM/PM or same-day windows
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/796/PermittingInspection-Request
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNassau County Building Department performs its own inspections in the unincorporated area (Charles Barr is the named Building Official; the department's own Inspection Types list and Daily Route logic confirm County staff conduct the inspections); no delegation to a private provider is the default (private-provider review/inspection is available only if the applicant opts in under F.S. 553.791, via the County's own Private-Provider Registration process)
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/136/Building-Department
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated by default — the County performs its own final inspection. An applicant may opt into the private-provider inspection route under F.S. 553.791, using the County's own Private Provider Plan Compliance Affidavit / Registration
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q52; the Private-Provider Registration page and Private-Provider Plan Compliance Affidavit form exist specifically as the applicant-elected alternative, confirming that absent that election the County inspects itself
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/1535/Private-Provider-Registration
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
No PV-specific sequence is published. The County's general electrical inspection types (from its 'Inspection Types' list) that would realistically apply to a residential PV retrofit are: 260 – Electric Meter Set (if a new/production meter is set) then 299 – Electrical Final/Change-Out, which is required on all permits
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the County's own 'Inspection Types' document, which lists only generic electrical inspection codes (210, 215, 220, 240, 250, 252, 260, 290, 299) with no PV-specific entry; this is my inference of which of those would apply to a rooftop PV job, not a published sequence for solar
department inspection types list checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/3430/Inspection-Types
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Inspection Types list and the (stale, 2018) One-and-Two-Family Dwelling checklist — neither states a rough-in or mid-roof inspection specific to a PV retrofit; a '220 Electrical Ceiling Cover Up' rough inspection exists generically for concealed conduit runs but nothing PV-specific
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/3430/Inspection-Types
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, as part of the generic final-inspection standard, but not stated as a PV-specific checklist item
Why the confidence is not higherThe County's own description of the '299 – Electrical Final/Change Out' inspection requires the installation to be in 'a complete, safe and code compliant state', which under NEC 110.3(B) requires listed/labeled equipment be installed per its listing — this is inference from the general final-inspection description, not a PV-specific published statement
department inspection types list (inferred) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/3430/Inspection-Types
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No — Nassau has no published PV-specific inspection checklist. It does publish a general 'One and Two Family Dwelling Inspection Checklist,' but that document is dated Revised May 2018 and still cites the 6th Edition (2017) FBC and 2014 NEC — two code cycles out of date — and covers only footings/slab/framing/insulation/final, with nothing on electrical or solar
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the checklist document's own cover page, which self-dates to May 2018 and cites superseded code editions, confirming it predates and does not reflect the County's current 8th Ed. (2023)/2020 NEC adoption
county inspection checklist (dated/stale) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/15821/Residential-One-and-Two-Family-Dwelling-Inspection-checklist
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved plans and the permit placard/documents posted at the job site for every required inspection
Why the confidence is not higherDigital Permitting Procedures (11/2025): 'Applicant will be responsible for posting the required documents at the jobsite and having the approved plans on-site for each required inspection.' The (stale, 2018) inspection checklist separately cites FBC §105.7 for the permit placard and stamped plans requirement, consistent with current practice
department procedure notice checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30873/Digital-Permitting-Procedures-
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$25 first failed inspection; $50 second failed inspection; $200 each subsequent failed inspection
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the County's Fee Schedule, citing F.S. 553.80(2)(b) as authority
fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/23522/Fee-Schedule
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Digital Permitting Procedures notice, Bulletins list, and Fee Schedule — none describes a formal corrections-issuance/clearance workflow beyond noting that applications are routed for departmental approvals; no published corrections procedure specific to inspections was found
https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30873/Digital-Permitting-Procedures-
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a completed electrical/building final inspection sign-off) rather than a Certificate of Occupancy — a CO is issued only for new construction/occupancy changes, and a PV retrofit on an existing home does not create a new occupancy
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the County's own inspection-type naming ('299 – Electrical Final/Change Out' as the terminal inspection) and the general FBC framework where a CO attaches to new construction/occupancy change, not a retrofit permit; no Nassau document states this specifically for solar
department inspection types list (inferred) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/3430/Inspection-Types
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/owner — Nassau's own ordinance frames utility connection as something the applicant must arrange after the County's release, not something the County itself initiates with the utility
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance §112.1 (Bulletin 02-2025): 'A person shall not make connections from a utility... until released by the building official' — this establishes the County's release as a precondition, but does not say who then contacts the utility for PTO; this is inference, and Nassau's own document does not name a party for the PTO notification step itself
county ordinance/bulletin (OCR'd) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.nassaucountyfl.com/DocumentCenter/View/30079/Bulletin-02-2025---Authority-to-Disconnect-Utilities-7-01-2025
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.