Town of Hillsboro Beach
Town of Hillsboro Beach
Broward County
Town of Hillsboro Beach is a town authority in the State of Florida, serving 1,987 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Town of Hillsboro Beach against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Town of Hillsboro Beach is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and zoning/site-plan — full authority; day-to-day Building Official, plans-examiner and trade-inspector staffing is contracted to a private engineering firm, Calvin, Giordano & Associates, Inc. (CGA), rather than performed by county staff or in-house town employees
- Overridden by
- Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals (BORA) county-wide HVHZ amendments to the Florida Building Code and Florida Fire Prevention Code, incorporated by reference in the Town's own Code §4-1; FS 163.04 (bars HOA/architectural denial of solar, limited to a 45°-of-south roof-location discretion); FS 553.79/553.791 statutory caps on fees and private-provider practice
- Why not higher
- floridabuilding.org's statewide 392-entry keyless registry of jurisdictions that actually issue building permits lists 'Town of Hillsboro Beach' (value=2326). The Town's own Building Department page states it 'reviews plans and performs jobsite inspections to verify compliance with the Florida Building Code' and that the department 'is powered by Calvin, Giordano & Associates, Inc (CGA)' — naming the operator but confirming the Town, not the county, is the issuing authority. Town Code §4-1 separately confirms the Town adopts (by reference) 'The Florida Building Code as adopted by Broward County' as its own Building Code, which is how the county-wide HVHZ amendments reach this Town without a standalone county delegation.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/196/Building-Department
- Permit required
- Yes. A building/electrical permit is required for a residential rooftop PV system.95%
- Permit cost
- Construction cost ≤$5,000: flat $125. Construction cost >$5,000 and ≤$5,000,000: 2.65% of cost. Construction cost >$5,000,000: 2.45%.93%
- Plan review
- 7–10 business days, if the application package is submitted complete.88%
- Portal
- Community Core (app.communitycore.com) — the Town transitioned its building software to the Community Core Permitting System.93%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC (inferred) — the current Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) cycle statewide references NFPA 70-2020 for electrical work;65%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or email — call (954) 766-2766 or contact the trade inspector directly by phone/email; results are then posted to the Community Core permit-search portal.90%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes. A building/electrical permit is required for a residential rooftop PV system. Q3 Electrical and building permits — Same underlying document, separate permit per trade: the county-wide 'Broward County Uniform Building Permit Application' has one 'Select One Trade' checkbox… Q4 Plan review — 7–10 business days, if the application package is submitted complete. Q18 Where you file — Community Core (app.communitycore.com) — the Town transitioned its building software to the Community Core Permitting System. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes. A building/electrical permit is required for a residential rooftop PV system.95% source
- What it costs
- Construction cost ≤$5,000: flat $125. Construction cost >$5,000 and ≤$5,000,000: 2.65% of cost. Construction cost >$5,000,000: 2.45%.93% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 7–10 business days, if the application package is submitted complete.88% source
- Key document
- published checklist cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — the Town of Hillsboro Beach is the AHJ for residential solar permitting within its limits. 92% · state registry
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical permitting/inspection are all performed by the Town's own Building Department (not delegated to Broward County). Day-to-day staffing — Building Official, plans examiners, and trade inspectors — is contracted to a private engineering firm, Calvin, Giordano & Associates, Inc. (CGA); the Town itself issues the permits and retains legal AHJ authority. Zoning/site-plan review is also handled by the Town (Town Planner, per the fee schedule). 85% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes. A building/electrical permit is required for a residential rooftop PV system. 95% · published checklist
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Same underlying document, separate permit per trade: the county-wide 'Broward County Uniform Building Permit Application' has one 'Select One Trade' checkbox (Building / Electrical / Plumbing / Mechanical / Other), and the Fee Schedule states 'A permit application is required for each trade, for each structure.' A residential PV job is typically filed as a Building trade permit for the racking/structural attachment plus an Electrical trade permit for the interconnection wiring — same form, separate submittals. 75% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — the Town does not require prior HOA or architectural-committee approval as a condition of issuing a solar permit. Its own solar ordinance requires only that the owner ACKNOWLEDGE, on the permit application, that the property may separately be subject to HOA/condo/covenant restrictions — the Town's issuance of a permit does not override those. Separately, FS 163.04(2) already forbids any such association from denying or prohibiting solar collectors outright; the only discretion the statute leaves an association is where on the roof, within a 45° arc of due south, and only if that does not impair operation. 92% · codified ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No historic-district architectural review applies. The Town's Code has no historic-preservation board/district chapter; the only 'historic' references in the code are Florida Building Code flood-provision exemptions for historic buildings (§4-134), unrelated to a design-review process. 75% · codified ordinance (full-text search)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Yes, functionally — product approval (Florida NOA) is required for the racking/attachment system as part of the permit package, which is how HVHZ Broward County (170 mph 3-second-gust design wind speed) enforces wind-resistance compliance for attached equipment; there is no separate free-standing 'wind certification' document beyond the NOA/engineer-sealed plans. 78% · published checklist
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No — a compliant rooftop PV system is processed administratively. Code §12-267(C) deems rooftop PV 'permitted accessory equipment' in all zoning categories for conforming and nonconforming buildings alike; the section does not route any compliant installation to the Town Commission or require a Special/Conditional Use Permit. 85% · codified ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either a state-licensed contractor (qualifier named on the Uniform Application) or the property owner acting as owner-builder under the F.S. 489.117(4)(a)1 licensing exemption (a checkbox on the same application). 78% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes. New contractors must register in the Town's Community Core permitting system before applying. 88% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes. A homeowner may self-permit as an owner-builder. 85% · published form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the Solar Permitting Checklist: a complete Broward County Uniform Building Permit Application (job value + sq ft + subcontractor applications, current contractor documentation); two complete sets of plans signed & sealed by the designer showing wind loads, tie-downs and electrical tie-ins; two copies of Special Inspector forms for the tie-downs; two copies of Product Approvals (NOAs) and/or listed specifications; a copy of the recorded Notice of Commencement; a certified document showing Florida Solar Energy Center (FSEC)-approved equipment; and — a Town-specific item — photographs of the existing service disconnect (main breaker, buss, manufacturer's label, service/feeder conductors) reflecting the riser provided. 93% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Two (2) paper copies of plans/product approvals/special-inspector forms per the Solar Checklist, plus a digital submittal — the Town's Online Permit Submittal page states it now accepts 'digital submittal of all permit types' through Community Core. 80% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes — an electrical diagram is a required plan item ('Electrical diagram' listed under Required Documents). 88% · published checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Signed-and-sealed design required for all rooftop PV installations, with no dollar-value threshold stated — 'two (2) complete sets of plans (signed & sealed by Designer, as required by code)' plus 'two (2) copies of Special Inspector forms as applicable for the tiedowns.' 80% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Community Core (app.communitycore.com) — the Town transitioned its building software to the Community Core Permitting System. 93% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes — the Town states it is 'now accepting digital submittal of all permit types' through Community Core, including online fee payment and permit download. 90% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Construction cost ≤$5,000: flat $125. Construction cost >$5,000 and ≤$5,000,000: 2.65% of cost. Construction cost >$5,000,000: 2.45%. Add: Broward County BORA fee ($0.52/$1,000 or fraction, min $2.00), Florida DBPR/FBC Compliance Program fee (F.S. 553.721 — min $2.00, 1.5% of permit fee), Building Code Administrators & Inspectors Fund fee (F.S. 468.631 — min $2.00, 1.5% of permit fee). Jobs over $75,000 also pay a 1% application fee at submittal, credited against the final permit cost. 93% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation-based (tiered percentage of attested/verified cost of construction — the greater of the applicant's statement, a signed contract, or R.S. Means valuation). 93% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No separate plan-check fee is charged up front — 'Permit fees include first plan review and standard inspections.' A separate Plan Review Fee ($95/hour, 1-hour minimum per discipline) applies only to subsequent/duplicate/rejected-plan reviews or pre-submittal reviews. 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 7–10 business days, if the application package is submitted complete. 88% · published checklist
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Not stated outright, but the Fee Schedule's own 'Expired Permit Renewal Fee' tiers pivot at 180 days ('within 180 days of expiration' vs. 'after 180 days'), strongly implying the Town follows the Florida Building Code's standard 180-day permit-expiration rule (no completed inspection within 180 days of issuance/last inspection). 62% · fee schedule
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Florida Power & Light Company (FPL) — the sole practical electric seller reaching this barrier-island town. 88% · town department procedure + EIA-861
28 questions answered against Town of Hillsboro Beach’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — the Town of Hillsboro Beach is the AHJ for residential solar permitting within its limits.
Why the confidence is not higherTown appears by name in the floridabuilding.org statewide registry of local governments that actually issue building permits (392-entry keyless list, value=2326, 'Town of Hillsboro Beach'). The Town's own Building Department page independently confirms it reviews plans and performs jobsite inspections under its own name for FBC compliance.
state registry checked 2026-09-13 https://www.floridabuilding.org/sc/sc_org_srch.aspx
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical permitting/inspection are all performed by the Town's own Building Department (not delegated to Broward County). Day-to-day staffing — Building Official, plans examiners, and trade inspectors — is contracted to a private engineering firm, Calvin, Giordano & Associates, Inc. (CGA); the Town itself issues the permits and retains legal AHJ authority. Zoning/site-plan review is also handled by the Town (Town Planner, per the fee schedule).
Why the confidence is not higherTown's own Building Department page states plainly: 'The Town of Hillsboro Beach Building Department is powered by Calvin, Giordano & Associates, Inc (CGA)' and names CGA staff as the Building Official and all trade inspectors. No county delegation instrument (interlocal agreement) was located; confidence capped because the underlying CGA services contract itself was not found, only the Town's own description of the arrangement.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/196/Building-Department
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes. A building/electrical permit is required for a residential rooftop PV system.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town publishes a dedicated 'Solar Permitting Checklist' (Solar Photovoltaic (PV) system Permit Application Checklist) and Code of Ordinances §12-267 ('Rooftop photovoltaic solar systems') both presuppose and govern a permit process.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Same underlying document, separate permit per trade: the county-wide 'Broward County Uniform Building Permit Application' has one 'Select One Trade' checkbox (Building / Electrical / Plumbing / Mechanical / Other), and the Fee Schedule states 'A permit application is required for each trade, for each structure.' A residential PV job is typically filed as a Building trade permit for the racking/structural attachment plus an Electrical trade permit for the interconnection wiring — same form, separate submittals.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from the Uniform Building Permit Application PDF (revised 01-08-2026, effective 03-09-2026) and the Building Fee Schedule's 'per trade, per structure' language. Not solar-specific, so there is some residual uncertainty about local practice for a single combined PV permit.
permit application form checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/532
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either a state-licensed contractor (qualifier named on the Uniform Application) or the property owner acting as owner-builder under the F.S. 489.117(4)(a)1 licensing exemption (a checkbox on the same application).
Why the confidence is not higherUniform Building Permit Application has a 'Qualifier's Name ... Owner-Builder' line and a separate 'License Exempted per F.S. 489.117(4)(a)1' box.
permit application form checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/532
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes. New contractors must register in the Town's Community Core permitting system before applying.
Why the confidence is not higherForms page states: 'New contractor registration please use our permit system Community Core and click Apply for Contractor Licenses to register.'
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/235/Building-Applications-Forms
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes. A homeowner may self-permit as an owner-builder.
Why the confidence is not higherA standing 'Owner Builder Affidavit' form is published on the Forms page, and the Uniform Building Permit Application carries the F.S. 489.117(4)(a)1 owner-builder exemption line.
published form checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/531
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the Solar Permitting Checklist: a complete Broward County Uniform Building Permit Application (job value + sq ft + subcontractor applications, current contractor documentation); two complete sets of plans signed & sealed by the designer showing wind loads, tie-downs and electrical tie-ins; two copies of Special Inspector forms for the tie-downs; two copies of Product Approvals (NOAs) and/or listed specifications; a copy of the recorded Notice of Commencement; a certified document showing Florida Solar Energy Center (FSEC)-approved equipment; and — a Town-specific item — photographs of the existing service disconnect (main breaker, buss, manufacturer's label, service/feeder conductors) reflecting the riser provided.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated, verbatim, on the Town's own 'Solar Photovoltaic (PV) system Permit Application Checklist'.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Two (2) paper copies of plans/product approvals/special-inspector forms per the Solar Checklist, plus a digital submittal — the Town's Online Permit Submittal page states it now accepts 'digital submittal of all permit types' through Community Core.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Checklist specifies '2' for each plan/document item; the Online Permit Submittal page separately confirms digital upload is required/available for all permit types via Community Core.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/288/Online-Permit-Submittal
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permitting Checklist (DocumentCenter/View/6231) and the New Single Family Residence Submittal Checklist do not list a site plan as a required solar submittal item; no separate solar site-plan requirement was located on the Building Applications & Forms page or in Code §12-267.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes — an electrical diagram is a required plan item ('Electrical diagram' listed under Required Documents).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist, 'Plans and Documents' section.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permitting Checklist and Electrical Load Calculations Form (a general, non-solar-specific service-sizing worksheet) were reviewed; neither names a required string-sizing or conductor-ampacity calculation package specific to PV as a checklist line item.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Signed-and-sealed design required for all rooftop PV installations, with no dollar-value threshold stated — 'two (2) complete sets of plans (signed & sealed by Designer, as required by code)' plus 'two (2) copies of Special Inspector forms as applicable for the tiedowns.'
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist; the checklist does not carve out a small-system exemption, so the requirement appears to apply to every rooftop PV permit regardless of size.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the Solar Permitting Checklist, the Uniform Building Permit Application, and the (general, not solar-specific) Electrical Load Calculations Form; none states a specific ampacity/valuation threshold at which an electrical PE stamp is separately required (contrast with the F.S. 471.003(2)(h) 600A/800A threshold found named explicitly by a different authority in this survey).
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Construction cost ≤$5,000: flat $125. Construction cost >$5,000 and ≤$5,000,000: 2.65% of cost. Construction cost >$5,000,000: 2.45%. Add: Broward County BORA fee ($0.52/$1,000 or fraction, min $2.00), Florida DBPR/FBC Compliance Program fee (F.S. 553.721 — min $2.00, 1.5% of permit fee), Building Code Administrators & Inspectors Fund fee (F.S. 468.631 — min $2.00, 1.5% of permit fee). Jobs over $75,000 also pay a 1% application fee at submittal, credited against the final permit cost.
Why the confidence is not higherTown's own current Building Fee Schedule (effective document on file 2026).
fee schedule checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6650/HB-FEE-SCHEDULE-2026_July
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation-based (tiered percentage of attested/verified cost of construction — the greater of the applicant's statement, a signed contract, or R.S. Means valuation).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule §1.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6650/HB-FEE-SCHEDULE-2026_July
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No separate plan-check fee is charged up front — 'Permit fees include first plan review and standard inspections.' A separate Plan Review Fee ($95/hour, 1-hour minimum per discipline) applies only to subsequent/duplicate/rejected-plan reviews or pre-submittal reviews.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule §§1–2.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6650/HB-FEE-SCHEDULE-2026_July
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
7–10 business days, if the application package is submitted complete.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist: 'If all documentation is submitted correctly, permits can be turned around in 7 – 10 business days.'
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Not stated outright, but the Fee Schedule's own 'Expired Permit Renewal Fee' tiers pivot at 180 days ('within 180 days of expiration' vs. 'after 180 days'), strongly implying the Town follows the Florida Building Code's standard 180-day permit-expiration rule (no completed inspection within 180 days of issuance/last inspection).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the 180-day pivot point in the Town's own Fee Schedule; no ordinance section stating the expiration period outright was located.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6650/HB-FEE-SCHEDULE-2026_July
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Community Core (app.communitycore.com) — the Town transitioned its building software to the Community Core Permitting System.
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permit Submittal page and Inspection Scheduling page both direct users to Community Core; the Uniform Application/registration links resolve to app.communitycore.com.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/288/Online-Permit-Submittal
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes — the Town states it is 'now accepting digital submittal of all permit types' through Community Core, including online fee payment and permit download.
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permit Submittal page, current text.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/288/Online-Permit-Submittal
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Florida Power & Light Company (FPL) — the sole practical electric seller reaching this barrier-island town.
Why the confidence is not higherTwo independent proofs: (1) EIA-861 Service_Territory_2024.xlsx lists 'Florida Power & Light Co' against Broward County; (2) the Town's OWN 'Service Change Procedures' document instructs contractors to 'Schedule service disconnect with FPL Pompano Service Center (954) 956-2013' — a town-side instrument naming the seller. The same EIA file also lists 'Lee County Electric Coop' against Broward County at the county level, but LCEC's actual territory is Lee/Charlotte/Hendry/Collier counties on the opposite coast; that row almost certainly reflects a county-touching sliver elsewhere in Broward, not coastal Hillsboro Beach, and I found no codified franchise ordinance (searched 'franchise' and 'Florida Power & Light' verbatim in the Town's Municode — no franchise ordinance naming a seller is codified).
town department procedure + EIA-861 checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6160
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo FPL distributed-generation interconnection manual or Town document stating whether interconnection happens before/after/parallel to the building permit was located this run (no web-search budget remained to retrieve FPL's DG manual fresh); the Town's own site is silent on the sequencing.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/196/Building-Department
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No — the Town does not require prior HOA or architectural-committee approval as a condition of issuing a solar permit. Its own solar ordinance requires only that the owner ACKNOWLEDGE, on the permit application, that the property may separately be subject to HOA/condo/covenant restrictions — the Town's issuance of a permit does not override those. Separately, FS 163.04(2) already forbids any such association from denying or prohibiting solar collectors outright; the only discretion the statute leaves an association is where on the roof, within a 45° arc of due south, and only if that does not impair operation.
Why the confidence is not higherCode of Ordinances §12-267(E)(1) (Ord. 262, passed 9-11-2012), read together with the verified text of F.S. 163.04(2).
codified ordinance checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICO_CH12LADECO_DIV5ZO_ARTXIIIADEXMO_S12-267ROPHSOSY
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No historic-district architectural review applies. The Town's Code has no historic-preservation board/district chapter; the only 'historic' references in the code are Florida Building Code flood-provision exemptions for historic buildings (§4-134), unrelated to a design-review process.
Why the confidence is not higherFull-code search for 'historic' (7 hits, all clustered in the FBC flood-provisions article, none a historic-preservation ordinance); positive control 'electrical' (19 hits) and fabricated control 'zzqqxplorp' (0 hits) both passed in the same session, so the search itself is proven working.
codified ordinance (full-text search) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, functionally — product approval (Florida NOA) is required for the racking/attachment system as part of the permit package, which is how HVHZ Broward County (170 mph 3-second-gust design wind speed) enforces wind-resistance compliance for attached equipment; there is no separate free-standing 'wind certification' document beyond the NOA/engineer-sealed plans.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist requires 'Two (2) copies of Product Approvals (NOA's) and/or specifications with listings'; the Broward County Fenestration Voluntary Wind Load Chart (170 mph, Exposure C) on the Town's own Forms page corroborates the county's HVHZ design wind speed.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No — a compliant rooftop PV system is processed administratively. Code §12-267(C) deems rooftop PV 'permitted accessory equipment' in all zoning categories for conforming and nonconforming buildings alike; the section does not route any compliant installation to the Town Commission or require a Special/Conditional Use Permit.
Why the confidence is not higherCode of Ordinances §12-267(C).
codified ordinance checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICO_CH12LADECO_DIV5ZO_ARTXIIIADEXMO_S12-267ROPHSOSY
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCode §12-267 caps HEIGHT only (not exceeding the roof line; ≤5 ft above a flat roof) — it imposes no kW/system-size cap on residential generation. The Fee Schedule and Solar Checklist likewise name no kW ceiling.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC (inferred) — the current Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) cycle statewide references NFPA 70-2020 for electrical work; no Broward-specific document was found stating the NEC year in so many words. 65% · county code-appeals board page
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023), Broward County Edition (HVHZ) — adopted by reference and floating with Broward County's cycle. 92% · codified ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code (NFPA 1), 8th Edition, with Broward County Amendments. 82% · county code-appeals board page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes. The Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals (BORA) adopts county-wide High-Velocity Hurricane Zone (HVHZ) amendments to both the Building Code and the Fire Prevention Code, and Hillsboro Beach's own Code incorporates the county's edition (and its amendments) by reference rather than adopting a standalone town text. 88% · county code-appeals board page
- What is the installation judged against? The Florida Building Code, Broward County (HVHZ) Edition, plus the National Electrical Code as incorporated by the FBC's electrical provisions, plus Florida product-approval (NOA) requirements for wind resistance. 82% · codified ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for Town of Hillsboro Beach on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Not locally amended — a full-text search of the codified ordinances for 'rapid shutdown' returned zero hits (controls in the same session: positive 'electrical' 19 hits, fabricated 'zzqqxplorp' 0 hits, both passed). Rapid shutdown therefore follows the default NEC 690.12 requirement under whichever NEC edition is in force — inferred as the 2020 NEC (see Q29). 62% · codified ordinance (full-text search)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for Town of Hillsboro Beach on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes — equipment must be listed/approved: the Solar Checklist requires a 'Certified Document indicating Florida Solar Energy Center (FSEC) – Approved Equipment' plus Product Approvals (NOAs) for the mounting hardware. 85% · published checklist
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No prescriptive spacing table found — attachment design is handled case-by-case: the Solar Checklist requires engineer/designer-sealed plans showing wind loads and tie-downs, plus a Special Inspector form for the tie-downs, rather than a fixed spacing rule in the ordinance. 68% · published checklist
20 questions answered against Town of Hillsboro Beach’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC (inferred) — the current Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) cycle statewide references NFPA 70-2020 for electrical work; no Broward-specific document was found stating the NEC year in so many words.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from two of the authority-chain's own documents: the Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals page names 'Municode – Florida Building Code, Chapter 1 (8th Edition)' as the current adopted edition, and the Town's own Code §4-1 adopts 'The Florida Building Code as adopted by Broward County ... as it may be subsequently amended from time to time' — i.e. it floats with the county's cycle. The specific NEC-year citation itself was not found written out for Broward.
county code-appeals board page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.broward.org/codeappeals/Pages/Default.aspx
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023), Broward County Edition (HVHZ) — adopted by reference and floating with Broward County's cycle.
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code §4-1 ('Florida Building Code adopted'): 'The Florida Building Code as adopted by Broward County, Florida, and as it may be subsequently amended from time to time, shall be the Building Code of the town' (Ord. 78, 10-6-1969; Am. Ord. 213, 7-8-2003); current edition confirmed live on the Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals page ('Florida Building Code, Chapter 1 (8th Edition)').
codified ordinance checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICO_CH4BUBURE_ARTIINGE_S4-1FLBUCOAD
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code (NFPA 1), 8th Edition, with Broward County Amendments.
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code §5½-2 adopts 'the Fire Prevention Code of the National Fire Protection Association, NFPA No. 1, and subsequent revisions' (floating, originally the 1975 edition — Ord. 110, 3-3-1980); the Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals page confirms the currently effective county text is 'Florida Fire Prevention Code, Broward County Amendments (8th Edition).'
county code-appeals board page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.broward.org/codeappeals/Pages/Default.aspx
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes. The Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals (BORA) adopts county-wide High-Velocity Hurricane Zone (HVHZ) amendments to both the Building Code and the Fire Prevention Code, and Hillsboro Beach's own Code incorporates the county's edition (and its amendments) by reference rather than adopting a standalone town text.
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code §4-1 ('as adopted by Broward County ... as it may be subsequently amended from time to time') plus BORA's own description of its mission ('The Board convenes to consider proposed amendments to the Florida Building and Fire Prevention codes').
county code-appeals board page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.broward.org/codeappeals/Pages/Default.aspx
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The Florida Building Code, Broward County (HVHZ) Edition, plus the National Electrical Code as incorporated by the FBC's electrical provisions, plus Florida product-approval (NOA) requirements for wind resistance.
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code §4-1 adoption clause; Solar Permitting Checklist's NOA/product-approval requirement; BORA HVHZ context.
codified ordinance checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICO_CH4BUBURE_ARTIINGE_S4-1FLBUCOAD
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-text searches of the codified ordinances for 'busbar' and 'service upgrade' returned zero hits (controls for the same search session — 'electrical' 19 hits, fabricated 'zzqqxplorp' 0 hits — both passed, so the absence is real and not a broken search).
https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No prescriptive spacing table found — attachment design is handled case-by-case: the Solar Checklist requires engineer/designer-sealed plans showing wind loads and tie-downs, plus a Special Inspector form for the tie-downs, rather than a fixed spacing rule in the ordinance.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist ('Original Plans with structural attachment details signed and sealed ... including wind loads, tie downs'; 'Two copies of Special Inspector forms as applicable for the tiedowns'); no numeric spacing table located in Code §12-267 or elsewhere.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe operative fire code is NFPA 1 (paywalled — not independently re-read this run), and no Hillsboro Beach-specific amendment addressing PV ridge setback or fire-access pathways was found in a full-text search of the codified ordinances (search terms 'solar', 'photovoltaic', 'setback' near fire chapter 5½). Per the standing method, unread NFPA 1 text means unreached, not a confirmed absence.
https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Not locally amended — a full-text search of the codified ordinances for 'rapid shutdown' returned zero hits (controls in the same session: positive 'electrical' 19 hits, fabricated 'zzqqxplorp' 0 hits, both passed). Rapid shutdown therefore follows the default NEC 690.12 requirement under whichever NEC edition is in force — inferred as the 2020 NEC (see Q29).
Why the confidence is not higherControlled full-text search of the Town's own Municode corpus, plus the same inference chain as Q29 for the NEC edition.
codified ordinance (full-text search) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the Building Applications & Forms page, the Solar Permitting Checklist, and Code §12-267; the only signage-related document found ('New Residential Signage Requirement', Ord. 2024-10) governs emergency-responder street-address numbering visible from the beach/Intracoastal — NOT service-equipment placarding for PV/ESS. No town-specific placard requirement for solar service equipment was located; this is a distinct and worth-flagging point since the same document name could be mistaken for a solar-signage answer.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6165
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no town-specific placard-wording requirement for solar found; default NEC 690/705 wording would apply absent a local rule.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/235/Building-Applications-Forms
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no local letter-height/color/material rule for solar placards found (the 6-inch/0.5-inch specification that DOES exist locally is for the unrelated street-address-numbering ordinance, not service-equipment labels).
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6165
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo site-plan/facility-map placard requirement specific to this Town was found; not addressed in the Solar Checklist or Code §12-267.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo FPL distributed-generation manual was retrieved this run (no web-search budget remained), so any FPL-specific placard requirement beyond the AHJ's could not be confirmed.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo town-specific label-placement rule for solar equipment found beyond the general 'existing service disconnect' photo-documentation requirement in the Solar Checklist, which documents but does not itself specify label placement.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes — equipment must be listed/approved: the Solar Checklist requires a 'Certified Document indicating Florida Solar Energy Center (FSEC) – Approved Equipment' plus Product Approvals (NOAs) for the mounting hardware.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist, Required Documents section.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Hillsboro Beach-specific battery/ESS ordinance or checklist item was found. Full-text searches for 'battery' and 'energy storage' in the codified ordinances returned only unrelated multi-family emergency-power provisions (§§12-147, 12-167), not a residential-PV ESS rule.
https://library.municode.com/fl/hillsboro_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q45 — no separate ESS permit/inspection type was found on the Forms page or Fee Schedule.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/235/Building-Applications-Forms
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCode §12-267 is titled and scoped to 'Rooftop photovoltaic solar systems' only (its own definitions section defines 'Rooftop photovoltaic solar system' as roof-mounted); it does not address ground-mounted PV at all. Whether a ground mount is treated as an accessory structure subject to the Town's general setback/accessory-structure rules was not separately confirmed this run.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Town's own 'Electric Panel - Service Change Form' (service-change procedure) names FPL as the utility contact but does not state a disconnect-to-meter placement rule; that specification would sit in FPL's own DG interconnection manual, not retrieved this run (no web-search budget remained).
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6160
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or email — call (954) 766-2766 or contact the trade inspector directly by phone/email; results are then posted to the Community Core permit-search portal. 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? Effectively next-business-day: 'inspection requests are accepted until 3:00 p.m. for the next business day inspection.' 88% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes — the Town's own (contract) inspectors perform the final inspections; this is not delegated to Broward County. The Inspection Scheduling page names a dedicated Electrical Inspector (Donald Correa) and Structural Inspector (K-Maron Perdue), both under the CGA staffing contract. 82% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not applicable — inspections are not delegated to another jurisdiction; they are performed by the Town's own contracted (CGA) inspectors. 80% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for Town of Hillsboro Beach on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? At least at plan-review stage, yes — FSEC-approved-equipment certification and NOA product approvals are required documents reviewed before permit issuance; whether the field inspector separately re-verifies labels/listings on site was not confirmed. 65% · published checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Likely a Certificate of Completion / final inspection approval rather than a full Certificate of Occupancy (a PV retrofit on an existing dwelling would not need a new CO) — the Forms page lists a 'Certificate of Occupancy/Completion Checklist,' implying the Town issues one or the other depending on scope, but no document was found stating which applies specifically to a solar permit. 58% · published form (inferred)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $95. 90% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against Town of Hillsboro Beach’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or email — call (954) 766-2766 or contact the trade inspector directly by phone/email; results are then posted to the Community Core permit-search portal.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling page.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively next-business-day: 'inspection requests are accepted until 3:00 p.m. for the next business day inspection.'
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling page, current text.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection Scheduling page states only the 3pm next-business-day cutoff; it does not offer or describe AM/PM inspection windows.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes — the Town's own (contract) inspectors perform the final inspections; this is not delegated to Broward County. The Inspection Scheduling page names a dedicated Electrical Inspector (Donald Correa) and Structural Inspector (K-Maron Perdue), both under the CGA staffing contract.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling page and Building Department page both name individual CGA-employed trade inspectors reporting to the Town's Building Official.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not applicable — inspections are not delegated to another jurisdiction; they are performed by the Town's own contracted (CGA) inspectors.
Why the confidence is not higherSame as Q52.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Solar Checklist and Fee Schedule identify the trades involved (building/structural tie-down special inspection, electrical) but do not publish a numbered inspection sequence for a PV job specifically.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo town document was found stating whether a rough-in or mid-installation inspection is required for rooftop PV specifically, beyond the 'Special Inspector' tie-down form required at permitting.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
At least at plan-review stage, yes — FSEC-approved-equipment certification and NOA product approvals are required documents reviewed before permit issuance; whether the field inspector separately re-verifies labels/listings on site was not confirmed.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permitting Checklist required-documents list; no separate field-inspection checklist was found to confirm a site verification step.
published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe only published checklist found ('Solar Permitting Checklist') is an application-submittal checklist, not a field-inspection checklist; no separate inspection checklist was located on the Forms or Inspection Scheduling pages.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo document specifying what must be physically on site at the time of a solar inspection (approved plans, placards, etc.) was located.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6231
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$95.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule, 'Miscellaneous Fees' — 'Re-Inspection Fee $95'.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/DocumentCenter/View/6650/HB-FEE-SCHEDULE-2026_July
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo document describing how corrections are issued to the applicant or the process for clearing them was found.
https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/287/Inspection-Scheduling
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Likely a Certificate of Completion / final inspection approval rather than a full Certificate of Occupancy (a PV retrofit on an existing dwelling would not need a new CO) — the Forms page lists a 'Certificate of Occupancy/Completion Checklist,' implying the Town issues one or the other depending on scope, but no document was found stating which applies specifically to a solar permit.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the existence of the 'Certificate of Occupancy/Completion Checklist' form; not confirmed solar-specific.
published form (inferred) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.townofhillsborobeach.com/235/Building-Applications-Forms
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo document was found stating who (installer, Town, or FPL itself) initiates utility notification for permission-to-operate; FPL's own DG interconnection manual, which would normally answer this, was not retrieved this run (no web-search budget remained).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.