Town of Mayo
Town of Mayo
Lafayette County
Town of Mayo is a town authority in the State of Florida, serving 1,055 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Town of Mayo against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Town of Mayo is not the permitting authority for residential solar here 90% confidence
- Holds
- floodplain administration (own NFIP CID 120132) and its own water/sewer utility; the town's own Code of Ordinances Ch. 8 Art. I (administrative building provisions) is 'Reserved' -- no local building official, no local permit-issuing apparatus of any kind
- Delegated to
- Lafayette County Building & Zoning Department (in-house county department, not a private contractor)
- Why not higher
- Converging first-hand evidence, town-side and county-side: (1) Town's own Code of Ordinances (Municode clientId 9062, ProductID 15717, codified through Ord. 2023-002) Ch. 8 BUILDINGS AND BUILDING REGULATIONS Art. I is 'Secs. 8-1--8-18. Reserved.' -- Art. II adopts only the state building code plus one freeboard amendment (Ord. 17-03), establishing no town building official or permit procedure. (2) Town's own Ch. 10 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT has no zoning article at all (only 'In General' + a CDBG-income-disposition article) -- the town has no independent zoning/LDR either. (3) Town's own community-information page states plainly: 'Lafayette County Building and Zoning Department ... They issue Building and Zoning Permits for residents and businesses' and separately lists 'Mayo Town Hall ... Website: NONE' with no building function. (4) The state's floridabuilding.org 392-entry register of governments that actually issue building permits contains 'County of Lafayette' (id 2274) but has ZERO entries for Mayo (checked against the full <option> list; positive control 'City of Live Oak' and 'County of Suwannee' both present, confirming the register loaded correctly) -- the classic town-absent/county-present matched pair. (5) Lafayette County's FY2025-26 adopted budget (read first-hand in a prior run on this survey, run 145) carries revenue line 342-500-00 'Town of Mayo - Building Department $19,400' under the county's own Protective Inspections cost centre (524), which also shows real personnel cost (~$140,779 salary+benefits) against only $5,000 Professional Services -- an in-house county department, not a bought-in one. Capped below 95 because the interlocal arrangement itself (as opposed to the practice) is not a separately located written interlocal agreement.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH8BUBURE_ARTIISTBUCO
- Permit required
- Yes -- a permit is required. Lafayette County's live iWorq permit portal offers a dedicated 'Solar' General Permit Application type, a separate 'Solar:' trade field,78%
- Permit cost
- $125 flat for a residential electrical permit (a solar PV job is an electrical permit), plus $25 zoning compliance if zoning review is triggered. $40 re-inspection fee.72%
- Plan review
- Not separately published by the county or town; the applicable clock is the STATUTORY one under FS 553.792(1)(a): a typical residential PV job (roughly $37,000-$55,000 in value) is OVER the…65%
- Portal
- Lafayette County's iWorq Citizen Access portal (the same portal used for the county's own permitting, since Mayo has no portal of its own).75%
- Electrical code
- No NEC year is printed anywhere in Mayo's own code or (per run 145) on the county's current building permit application -- both use a FLOATING adoption ('the most recent version of the…65%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes -- a permit is required. Lafayette County's live iWorq permit portal offers a dedicated 'Solar' General Permit Application type, Q3 Electrical and building permits — Contradictory across the county's own current documents. The county's Subcontractor Verification Form states: 'Lafayette County issues combination permits. Q4 Plan review — Not separately published by the county or town; the applicable clock is the STATUTORY one under FS 553.792(1)(a): a typical residential PV job (roughly… Q18 Where you file — Lafayette County's iWorq Citizen Access portal (the same portal used for the county's own permitting, since Mayo has no portal of its own). Q20
- Permit required
- Yes -- a permit is required. Lafayette County's live iWorq permit portal offers a dedicated 'Solar' General Permit Application type, a separate 'Solar:' trade field,78% source
- What it costs
- $125 flat for a residential electrical permit (a solar PV job is an electrical permit), plus $25 zoning compliance if zoning review is triggered. $40 re-inspection fee.72% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Not separately published by the county or town; the applicable clock is the STATUTORY one under FS 553.792(1)(a): a typical residential PV job (roughly $37,000-$55,000 in value) is OVER the $15,000…65% source
- Key document
- county owner-builder permit packet, inherited finding cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? No. The Town of Mayo is not the AHJ for residential solar (or for building/electrical permitting generally). Lafayette County's Building & Zoning Department is the AHJ, in-house. 90% · town-published community information page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Mayo delegates ALL building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing and zoning/plan-review permitting to Lafayette County's Building & Zoning Department. Mayo itself retains only: its own municipal water and sewer utility (Code Ch. 28, self-operated, town council sets connection/service fees by resolution) and its own floodplain administration (Code Ch. 16, its own NFIP Community ID 120132, its own floodplain administrator role, and its own local FBC freeboard technical amendment adopted directly into its own code, Sec. 8-19 / Ord. 17-03). 85% · town's own codified ordinances (Municode, Supp. 1, online content updated 21 Feb 2025)
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes -- a permit is required. Lafayette County's live iWorq permit portal offers a dedicated 'Solar' General Permit Application type, a separate 'Solar:' trade field, and a dedicated 'Solar' inspection type; Ordinance 96-2 (1996) also lists 'Solar contractor' as a regulated trade category. 78% · county permit portal (iWorq), inherited finding
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Contradictory across the county's own current documents. The county's Subcontractor Verification Form states: 'Lafayette County issues combination permits. One permit will cover all trades doing work at the permitted site.' The county's Building Permit Application states the opposite: 'a separate permit must be secured for Electrical Work, Plumbing, Signs, Wells, Pools, Furnaces, Boilers, Heaters, and Air Conditioners.' Both are current and in the same downloadable packet. 55% · county permit application packet, inherited finding
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? SVEC's own Interconnection Agreement caps system size at 1,000 kW AC (a single class, no PSC-25-6.065-style tiers), and separately caps generation at 90% of the member's utility distribution service rating (GPR = installed DC nameplate x 0.85 for inverter-based systems) -- an ordinary residential rooftop system is far under both caps. No local zoning-code size cap was found because Mayo's own code has no zoning chapter at all. 70% · utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No local contractor-registration requirement beyond standard FBC/FS 489 licensure was found for the county; Mayo's own code has no separate contractor-registration provision either (Ch. 20 Licenses/Taxation covers general occupational licenses, not trade registration). 60% · absence across enumerated town code
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes. Lafayette County publishes a fully usable owner-builder route: an FS 489.503 electrical-exemption form, a Construction Disclosure Statement, a requirement that the owner personally appear to sign, a Homestead Exemption requirement (no corporations/LLCs/trusts), and the statement 'All inspections must be scheduled by the Owner-Builder.' 75% · county owner-builder permit packet, inherited finding
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
Nothing recorded for Town of Mayo on this step yet — 7 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Lafayette County's iWorq Citizen Access portal (the same portal used for the county's own permitting, since Mayo has no portal of its own). 75% · county permit portal, inherited finding
- Can the whole application be completed online? Forms and permit-type selection render server-side and are reachable by plain curl without a login. The permit SEARCH function is reCAPTCHA-gated (returns an empty results table to a plain GET); it is not possible to confirm search completion end-to-end without solving a captcha. 70% · county permit portal, inherited finding
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $125 flat for a residential electrical permit (a solar PV job is an electrical permit), plus $25 zoning compliance if zoning review is triggered. $40 re-inspection fee. Reactivation of an expired permit: free for the first 6 months, then 25% of the original permit cost per additional 6-month block. 72% · county fee schedule, inherited finding
- How is the fee calculated? Flat fee, not valuation-based, for the residential electrical permit ($125). No plan-check fee is charged on residential trade permits. 70% · county fee schedule, inherited finding
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Not separately published by the county or town; the applicable clock is the STATUTORY one under FS 553.792(1)(a): a typical residential PV job (roughly $37,000-$55,000 in value) is OVER the $15,000 5-business-day threshold but UNDER the 7,500-sq-ft size threshold, so the 30-business-day statutory review clock governs by default. 65% · Florida Statute, verbatim
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Suwannee Valley Electric Cooperative (SVEC) is the confirmed electric seller inside Mayo town limits. Duke Energy Florida is an UN-ELIMINATED second candidate (see extra_findings for the full seller-count analysis). Central Florida Electric Cooperative (CFEC), though listed in EIA-861 for Lafayette County generally, is ELIMINATED for Mayo specifically. 82% · town-published community information page (utilities)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? The utility sits AFTER local permitting and inspection in the sequence: county permit -> installation -> county electrical-code inspection and approval -> the installer/member delivers SVEC's written certification that the local code official inspected, permitted and approved the system (SVEC's application Part F, a 'City/County Electrical Code Inspection' block signed by the inspector) -> at least 10 days' notice of the in-service date -> SVEC sends written notice within 10 BUSINESS DAYS that parallel operation may commence. That 10-business-day clock is the only published turnaround figure anywhere in this authority's permitting chain. 78% · utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding
28 questions answered against Town of Mayo’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
No. The Town of Mayo is not the AHJ for residential solar (or for building/electrical permitting generally). Lafayette County's Building & Zoning Department is the AHJ, in-house.
Why the confidence is not higherSee jurisdiction block for the full evidence chain (town's own reserved building chapter, absent zoning chapter, town's own government-services page, state register presence/absence pair, county budget delegation-revenue line).
town-published community information page checked 2026-09-13 https://townofmayo.org/where-to-get-what-you-need/government-services/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Mayo delegates ALL building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing and zoning/plan-review permitting to Lafayette County's Building & Zoning Department. Mayo itself retains only: its own municipal water and sewer utility (Code Ch. 28, self-operated, town council sets connection/service fees by resolution) and its own floodplain administration (Code Ch. 16, its own NFIP Community ID 120132, its own floodplain administrator role, and its own local FBC freeboard technical amendment adopted directly into its own code, Sec. 8-19 / Ord. 17-03).
Why the confidence is not higherMayo's own Code of Ordinances (fetched and enumerated in full this run: 16 numbered chapters, Ch.1 General Provisions, Ch.2 Administration, Ch.4 Alcoholic Beverages, Ch.6 Animals, Ch.8 Buildings, Ch.10 Community Development, Ch.12 Elections, Ch.14 Environment, Ch.16 Floods, Ch.18 Human Rights, Ch.20 Licenses/Taxation, Ch.22 Offenses, Ch.24 Solid Waste, Ch.26 Traffic, Ch.28 Utilities -- no separate Zoning or Fire chapter exists at all) shows no administrative building/zoning apparatus of its own outside the flood freeboard amendment and the water/sewer utility code. Combined with the county-side evidence in the jurisdiction block.
town's own codified ordinances (Municode, Supp. 1, online content updated 21 Feb 2025) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes -- a permit is required. Lafayette County's live iWorq permit portal offers a dedicated 'Solar' General Permit Application type, a separate 'Solar:' trade field, and a dedicated 'Solar' inspection type; Ordinance 96-2 (1996) also lists 'Solar contractor' as a regulated trade category.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County (run 145 of this survey, first-hand curl of the county's live iWorq forms, not re-fetched by this run) and applicable to Mayo because Mayo delegates permitting wholesale to the county (see jurisdiction). Discounted from the county's own ~90-95 confidence because it was not independently re-verified this run.
county permit portal (iWorq), inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Contradictory across the county's own current documents. The county's Subcontractor Verification Form states: 'Lafayette County issues combination permits. One permit will cover all trades doing work at the permitted site.' The county's Building Permit Application states the opposite: 'a separate permit must be secured for Electrical Work, Plumbing, Signs, Wells, Pools, Furnaces, Boilers, Heaters, and Air Conditioners.' Both are current and in the same downloadable packet.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145, which recorded this exact contradiction at confidence 60 for the county; discounted slightly further for this town-level file since not independently re-verified this run. Confidence is in the contradiction being real, not in which limb governs a given job.
county permit application packet, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own Code of Ordinances (no zoning/licensing chapter names a permit-pull authority); Lafayette County's Building Permit Application and Subcontractor Verification Form as excerpted in run 145's corpus -- neither excerpt on hand states who specifically may pull the electrical permit (licensed electrical contractor vs. any licensed GC vs. owner-builder only). Not independently re-fetched this run.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No local contractor-registration requirement beyond standard FBC/FS 489 licensure was found for the county; Mayo's own code has no separate contractor-registration provision either (Ch. 20 Licenses/Taxation covers general occupational licenses, not trade registration).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of a contractor-registration chapter/section in both Mayo's own enumerated code and the county corpus swept in run 145; not a document that affirmatively states 'no registration required.'
absence across enumerated town code checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes. Lafayette County publishes a fully usable owner-builder route: an FS 489.503 electrical-exemption form, a Construction Disclosure Statement, a requirement that the owner personally appear to sign, a Homestead Exemption requirement (no corporations/LLCs/trusts), and the statement 'All inspections must be scheduled by the Owner-Builder.'
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (county's own owner-builder packet, first-hand). Applies to Mayo addresses because building/electrical permitting is delegated wholesale to the county.
county owner-builder permit packet, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current Forms & Guidelines page and Mayo's own code; run 145 did not itemize a full residential submittal checklist for solar specifically (its coverage was of the general New Construction packet).
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current Forms & Guidelines page; number of copies/format not stated in the material captured by run 145.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current permit application packet; a dedicated site-plan requirement for solar specifically was not confirmed in run 145's excerpts (the county's zoning-compliance $25 add-on fee was found, but not a site-plan content requirement).
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current permit packet; a one-line/three-line diagram requirement was not explicitly confirmed in the material captured by run 145 (no dedicated solar checklist exists at the county, per that run).
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q11 -- no dedicated solar checklist exists at the county (confirmed in run 145); string/conductor calculation requirements not found.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current permit packet; run 145 recorded 'no published engineering threshold, no structural PE trigger' for solar specifically -- treated here as a genuine absence rather than a gap, but not independently re-verified this run against a Mayo address.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame corpus as q13 -- no electrical PE stamp threshold found.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$125 flat for a residential electrical permit (a solar PV job is an electrical permit), plus $25 zoning compliance if zoning review is triggered. $40 re-inspection fee. Reactivation of an expired permit: free for the first 6 months, then 25% of the original permit cost per additional 6-month block.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (county's own current fee documents, first-hand). Discounted from the county's own confidence because not re-verified this run and because it is not independently confirmed whether the county's fee schedule carries a Mayo-specific surcharge on top (no evidence of one found either way).
county fee schedule, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat fee, not valuation-based, for the residential electrical permit ($125). No plan-check fee is charged on residential trade permits.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145. Because the fee is flat rather than valuation-based, this authority does not present the FS 553.79(1)(f) 'fee based on total project cost' exposure that valuation-based schedules elsewhere in this survey have shown.
county fee schedule, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current fee schedule; run 145 states 'no plan-check fee on residential trade permits', which answers this in the negative at moderate confidence -- recorded as an answer under q16, not repeated here to avoid double-counting; genuinely separate plan-check line was not found.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Not separately published by the county or town; the applicable clock is the STATUTORY one under FS 553.792(1)(a): a typical residential PV job (roughly $37,000-$55,000 in value) is OVER the $15,000 5-business-day threshold but UNDER the 7,500-sq-ft size threshold, so the 30-business-day statutory review clock governs by default.
Why the confidence is not higherNo authority-specific plan-review turnaround was found in Mayo's own code or (per run 145) in the county's corpus; this is the state-law default that applies in the absence of a published local clock. FS 553.792(1)(a) verified verbatim off leg.state.fl.us and quoted in this survey's standing brief.
Florida Statute, verbatim checked 2026-09-13 https://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0553/Sections/0553.792.html
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current permit application and Mayo's own code; a general permit-validity/expiration period was not stated as a flat number (only the REACTIVATION fee schedule for an already-expired permit was found, recorded under q15).
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Lafayette County's iWorq Citizen Access portal (the same portal used for the county's own permitting, since Mayo has no portal of its own).
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (iWorq confirmed live and first-hand tested by curl for that run).
county permit portal, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Forms and permit-type selection render server-side and are reachable by plain curl without a login. The permit SEARCH function is reCAPTCHA-gated (returns an empty results table to a plain GET); it is not possible to confirm search completion end-to-end without solving a captcha.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145, which tested this directly (search-form-captcha class on the iWorq search box) and recorded it as a capability-not-demonstrated limit, not an absence.
county permit portal, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Suwannee Valley Electric Cooperative (SVEC) is the confirmed electric seller inside Mayo town limits. Duke Energy Florida is an UN-ELIMINATED second candidate (see extra_findings for the full seller-count analysis). Central Florida Electric Cooperative (CFEC), though listed in EIA-861 for Lafayette County generally, is ELIMINATED for Mayo specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherTown's own 'Utilities' community-information page names ONLY Suwannee Valley Electric Cooperative under 'Turn Your Lights On' for this community (single source, but town-specific and current). Corroborated: Mayo's own Code of Ordinances Ch. 28 UTILITIES contains only water/sewer provisions -- no electric franchise ordinance of any kind (searched 'franchise': 2 hits, both in Ch. 1 general-provisions boilerplate, neither naming an electric company) -- consistent with the town not being party to an exclusive electric franchise that would exclude a co-op. Suwannee Electric Cooperative's own 'Counties Served' page (via seminole-electric.com/members/svec/, inherited from run 145) lists Lafayette County by name. CFEC's own counties-served list (Alachua, Dixie, Gilchrist, Levy) excludes Lafayette entirely, and CFEC does not appear anywhere on Mayo's own utilities page.
town-published community information page (utilities) checked 2026-09-13 https://townofmayo.org/where-to-get-what-you-need/utilities/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
The utility sits AFTER local permitting and inspection in the sequence: county permit -> installation -> county electrical-code inspection and approval -> the installer/member delivers SVEC's written certification that the local code official inspected, permitted and approved the system (SVEC's application Part F, a 'City/County Electrical Code Inspection' block signed by the inspector) -> at least 10 days' notice of the in-service date -> SVEC sends written notice within 10 BUSINESS DAYS that parallel operation may commence. That 10-business-day clock is the only published turnaround figure anywhere in this authority's permitting chain.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145, which extracted and quoted SVEC's own Interconnection Agreement for Member-Owned Renewable Generation Systems first-hand (pdftotext, 9 pages). The sequence is SVEC's own document; its applicability to Mayo follows from Mayo being inside SVEC's confirmed service territory (q22).
utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://www.svec-coop.com/
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own Code of Ordinances (no zoning/HOA-approval chapter exists at all, per this run's full chapter enumeration) and Lafayette County's corpus (259 ordinances + LDR, swept in run 145 with zero 'solar'/'photovoltaic' hits and no HOA-approval-precondition clause reported). A genuine county-wide HOA/covenant landscape may still exist privately, but no AHJ-side HOA-approval gate was located in either government's documents.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code (no historic-preservation chapter exists) and the county's corpus (run 145 did not report a historic-district regime).
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current permit packet and Mayo's own code; a wind/windstorm certification requirement specific to solar was not confirmed in run 145's excerpts.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code (no zoning/Council-approval process exists at all -- confirmed by this run's chapter enumeration) and the county's LDR (run 145 found zero 'solar'/'photovoltaic' hits in the LDR).
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
SVEC's own Interconnection Agreement caps system size at 1,000 kW AC (a single class, no PSC-25-6.065-style tiers), and separately caps generation at 90% of the member's utility distribution service rating (GPR = installed DC nameplate x 0.85 for inverter-based systems) -- an ordinary residential rooftop system is far under both caps. No local zoning-code size cap was found because Mayo's own code has no zoning chapter at all.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (SVEC's own agreement, first-hand). The absence of a local zoning cap follows from this run's own enumeration of Mayo's Code of Ordinances table of contents (no Zoning chapter exists).
utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://www.svec-coop.com/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? No NEC year is printed anywhere in Mayo's own code or (per run 145) on the county's current building permit application -- both use a FLOATING adoption ('the most recent version of the state building code'). Under the statewide floating adoption, that is currently the 2023 FBC 8th Edition, whose electrical provisions incorporate NEC 2020. 65% · town's own codified ordinances
- Which building code edition is in force? The most recent version of the Florida Building Code, adopted by floating reference in Mayo's own Sec. 8-19 (Ord. 17-03, 9-18-2017): 'The town hereby adopts the most recent version of the state building code.' Currently the 2023 FBC, 8th Edition (statewide cycle). 88% · town's own codified ordinances
- Which fire code edition is in force? No local fire code adoption exists at either the town or county level. Mayo's own Code of Ordinances has no Fire chapter at all (full 16-chapter table of contents enumerated this run: General Provisions, Administration, Alcoholic Beverages, Animals, Buildings, Community Development, Elections, Environment, Floods, Human Rights, Licenses/Taxation, Offenses, Solid Waste, Traffic, Utilities -- no Fire Prevention chapter). Lafayette County's own corpus (259 ordinances, swept with controls in run 145) contains zero fire-code/NFPA/Life-Safety-Code adoptions either. The Florida Fire Prevention Code (FFPC) therefore governs by default state law. 82% · complete chapter enumeration, town's own code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, one local technical amendment exists, adopted directly in Mayo's own code (not merely inherited from the county): Sec. 8-19 (Ord. No. 17-03, Sec. 2, 9-18-2017) amends the state building code, residential, to require additional elevation of dwellings -- lowest floor at or above base flood elevation plus one (1) foot (or the design flood elevation, whichever is higher), with specific sub-rules for Coastal A Zones, AO Zones, and below-grade basements, and an exception referencing Sec. R322.2.2. This matches the county's own separate BFE+1 amendment (Ord. 2017-06), so town and county freeboard requirements agree. 92% · town's own codified ordinances
- What is the installation judged against? The Florida Building Code and NEC as adopted by floating reference (see q29-q30); no authority-specific installation standard beyond that was found in Mayo's own code. 65% · town's own codified ordinances
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for Town of Mayo on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for Town of Mayo on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? SVEC's own Interconnection Agreement specifies ZERO placards: a controlled term-sweep of the agreement found 'placard' 0, 'label' 0, 'warning' 0, 'marking' 0, 'letter height' 0 (against positive controls disconnect=6, insurance=3, net meter=3, and a fabricated control at 0). Neither Mayo's own code nor (per run 145) the county's corpus specifies any placard requirement either. NEC 690/705 is the entire labelling obligation for a job served by SVEC. 75% · utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? SVEC's agreement (clause 9, verbatim, inherited): 'The manual disconnect switch shall be mounted separately from the meter socket and shall be readily accessible at all times to the Cooperative and shall be capable of being locked in the open position by the Cooperative. The Cooperative may open and lock the switch ... without prior notice to the Member.' No distance figure is given (consistent with two other Florida utilities checked elsewhere in this survey). 75% · utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding
20 questions answered against Town of Mayo’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
No NEC year is printed anywhere in Mayo's own code or (per run 145) on the county's current building permit application -- both use a FLOATING adoption ('the most recent version of the state building code'). Under the statewide floating adoption, that is currently the 2023 FBC 8th Edition, whose electrical provisions incorporate NEC 2020.
Why the confidence is not higherMayo's own Sec. 8-19 (Ord. 17-03, 2017) verified first-hand this run: 'The town hereby adopts the most recent version of the state building code...' -- a floating adoption, not a fixed year. The NEC-2020-via-2023-FBC-8th-Edition mapping is the statewide default cited elsewhere in this survey's standing brief and was not independently re-verified against a Mayo-specific document naming NEC by year.
town's own codified ordinances checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH8BUBURE_ARTIISTBUCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
The most recent version of the Florida Building Code, adopted by floating reference in Mayo's own Sec. 8-19 (Ord. 17-03, 9-18-2017): 'The town hereby adopts the most recent version of the state building code.' Currently the 2023 FBC, 8th Edition (statewide cycle).
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted verbatim from Mayo's own current codified ordinances, fetched and read first-hand this run.
town's own codified ordinances checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH8BUBURE_ARTIISTBUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
No local fire code adoption exists at either the town or county level. Mayo's own Code of Ordinances has no Fire chapter at all (full 16-chapter table of contents enumerated this run: General Provisions, Administration, Alcoholic Beverages, Animals, Buildings, Community Development, Elections, Environment, Floods, Human Rights, Licenses/Taxation, Offenses, Solid Waste, Traffic, Utilities -- no Fire Prevention chapter). Lafayette County's own corpus (259 ordinances, swept with controls in run 145) contains zero fire-code/NFPA/Life-Safety-Code adoptions either. The Florida Fire Prevention Code (FFPC) therefore governs by default state law.
Why the confidence is not higherTown-side absence PROVED this run by complete chapter-list enumeration (16 of 16 chapters read from the table of contents, none titled Fire). County-side absence is INHERITED from run 145's controlled sweep of all 259 county ordinances (zero 'fire code'/'NFPA'/'Life Safety Code' hits).
complete chapter enumeration, town's own code checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, one local technical amendment exists, adopted directly in Mayo's own code (not merely inherited from the county): Sec. 8-19 (Ord. No. 17-03, Sec. 2, 9-18-2017) amends the state building code, residential, to require additional elevation of dwellings -- lowest floor at or above base flood elevation plus one (1) foot (or the design flood elevation, whichever is higher), with specific sub-rules for Coastal A Zones, AO Zones, and below-grade basements, and an exception referencing Sec. R322.2.2. This matches the county's own separate BFE+1 amendment (Ord. 2017-06), so town and county freeboard requirements agree.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted verbatim from Mayo's own current codified ordinances, Ch. 8 Art. II, fetched and read first-hand this run. The county comparison is inherited from run 145.
town's own codified ordinances checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH8BUBURE_ARTIISTBUCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The Florida Building Code and NEC as adopted by floating reference (see q29-q30); no authority-specific installation standard beyond that was found in Mayo's own code.
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as q29/q30.
town's own codified ordinances checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH8BUBURE_ARTIISTBUCO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code and the county's corpus; no local rule on service-upgrade or busbar sizing was found in either.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q34 -- no mounting/attachment-spacing rule found in either government's documents.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code (no fire chapter, confirmed this run) and the county's corpus (run 145 found no fire code adoption at all); ridge setback/access pathway requirements were not located in either.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code and the county's corpus; rapid shutdown was not addressed in either government's own documents (it would be governed by whichever NEC edition applies under the floating FBC adoption, but no authority-specific statement was found).
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
SVEC's own Interconnection Agreement specifies ZERO placards: a controlled term-sweep of the agreement found 'placard' 0, 'label' 0, 'warning' 0, 'marking' 0, 'letter height' 0 (against positive controls disconnect=6, insurance=3, net meter=3, and a fabricated control at 0). Neither Mayo's own code nor (per run 145) the county's corpus specifies any placard requirement either. NEC 690/705 is the entire labelling obligation for a job served by SVEC.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (SVEC's own agreement text, controlled term sweep, first-hand). Applies to Mayo given the confirmed SVEC service territory (q22).
utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://www.svec-coop.com/
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNeither Mayo's code nor (per run 145) the county's corpus specifies placard wording of its own -- consistent with q38's finding that SVEC and both governments are silent on placards; treated as a genuine zero rather than a gap, but recorded here since it was not independently re-run against a fabricated-term control this session.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame basis as q39.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame basis as q39 -- no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSVEC's own interconnection agreement (inherited, run 145) specifies zero placards beyond the AHJ's (which is also zero) -- see q38; not repeated as a separate answer to avoid restating the same zero twice under two numbers.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame basis as q39 -- no label-placement requirement found in either government's documents or SVEC's agreement.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code and the county's corpus; no equipment-listing requirement beyond standard UL/NEC listing (which is not authority-specific) was found.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code (no zoning chapter to carry a battery/ESS provision) and the county's corpus (run 145 did not report a battery/ESS-specific rule).
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame basis as q45 -- no separate ESS permit/inspection requirement found.
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMayo's own code has no zoning chapter to define 'structure' for a ground mount, and the county's LDR was not re-checked for this specific question this run (run 145's summary did not address ground-mount classification).
https://library.municode.com/fl/mayo/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
SVEC's agreement (clause 9, verbatim, inherited): 'The manual disconnect switch shall be mounted separately from the meter socket and shall be readily accessible at all times to the Cooperative and shall be capable of being locked in the open position by the Cooperative. The Cooperative may open and lock the switch ... without prior notice to the Member.' No distance figure is given (consistent with two other Florida utilities checked elsewhere in this survey).
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (SVEC's own agreement, first-hand).
utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://www.svec-coop.com/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
Nothing recorded for Town of Mayo on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? No -- delegated. Lafayette County performs its own final inspections in-house (not a private-provider arrangement); see jurisdiction block. 85% · town-published community information page, corroborated by inherited county finding
- If delegated, to whom? Lafayette County Building & Zoning Department, in-house. Building Official: Garret Land (per the county's own current site, 'Building Official & Zoning Administrator', in post since 2020; phone (386) 294-3611, email lafcobldg@gmail.com). 88% · county's own current department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for Town of Mayo on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? A recorded Notice of Commencement must be posted on site before the first inspection. 70% · county permit packet, inherited finding
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? The installer/member. SVEC's own interconnection sequence requires the member to deliver SVEC's written certification (Part F, signed by the local code official) that the system was inspected, permitted and approved, then give at least 10 days' notice of the in-service date; SVEC then authorizes parallel operation. 72% · utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Yes, $40 re-inspection fee. 68% · county fee schedule, inherited finding
14 questions answered against Town of Mayo’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current iWorq portal; inspection-booking mechanics beyond the reCAPTCHA-gated search (q21) were not itemized in run 145's excerpts.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame corpus as q49 -- notice-period for booking an inspection not found; run 145 did note a next-day HTML date-floor (min='2026-09-14' on 13 Sep 2026) on the inspection-request form as a machine-enforced signal, but that is a form floor, not a published policy, and was not independently re-verified this run.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame corpus as q49 -- AM/PM or same-day windows not addressed.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
No -- delegated. Lafayette County performs its own final inspections in-house (not a private-provider arrangement); see jurisdiction block.
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence base as the jurisdiction block: county's Protective Inspections cost centre shows real personnel cost, and the county's own words state it provides in-house building permitting and code enforcement. Inherited from run 145, cross-checked this run against the town's own community-information page naming the same county department for Mayo specifically.
town-published community information page, corroborated by inherited county finding checked 2026-09-13 https://townofmayo.org/where-to-get-what-you-need/government-services/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Lafayette County Building & Zoning Department, in-house. Building Official: Garret Land (per the county's own current site, 'Building Official & Zoning Administrator', in post since 2020; phone (386) 294-3611, email lafcobldg@gmail.com).
Why the confidence is not higherNamed on the county's own current Building Department page (fetched this run) and independently corroborated on Mayo's own community-information page, which lists the identical department, address (120 W. Main Street, Rm 210, Mayo FL 32066), phone and email as the office that 'issues Building and Zoning Permits for residents and businesses' in the county, Mayo included.
county's own current department page checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current forms; run 145 did not enumerate a full inspection-stage sequence specific to solar (no dedicated solar checklist exists at the county).
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame basis as q54.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current inspection materials; whether the inspector verifies labels/listings was not stated in run 145's excerpts (consistent with the absence of any placard requirement at all, per q38).
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current site and forms; run 145 explicitly found 'no published engineering threshold, no ... published solar checklist' -- treated as a genuine, controlled absence rather than a gap. Recorded here rather than as an answer because it was not re-verified first-hand this run.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
A recorded Notice of Commencement must be posted on site before the first inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (county's own current permit packet, first-hand).
county permit packet, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Yes, $40 re-inspection fee.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (county's own current fee document, first-hand).
county fee schedule, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current forms; how corrections are issued/cleared was not stated in run 145's excerpts.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's current forms; the specific document issued on a passed final inspection (Certificate of Occupancy vs. a green tag vs. a signed card) was not named in run 145's excerpts.
https://lafayettecountyfl.org/departments-services/building-department/
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
The installer/member. SVEC's own interconnection sequence requires the member to deliver SVEC's written certification (Part F, signed by the local code official) that the system was inspected, permitted and approved, then give at least 10 days' notice of the in-service date; SVEC then authorizes parallel operation.
Why the confidence is not higherINHERITED from Lafayette County run 145 (SVEC's own agreement, first-hand). Applies given the confirmed SVEC service territory for Mayo (q22).
utility's own interconnection agreement, inherited finding checked 2026-09-13 https://www.svec-coop.com/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.