20 answers
read off California's own statutes and adopting agencies. Each carries
the confidence it was recorded at and a link to the document it came from.
Which body adopts the building and electrical codes statewide, and on what cycle?
The California Building Standards Commission (CBSC/BSC, in DGS) approves, codifies and publishes the California Building Standards Code (Title 24 CCR); the substantive proposals come from the delegated state adopting agencies - HCD (residential occupancies, Parts 2.5/2/3/4/5/11), the Office of the State Fire Marshal (Part 9 and fire provisions in other parts), the California Energy Commission (Part 6 Energy Code and Part 11 CALGreen energy items), DSA, HCAI and BSC itself. Cycle: full triennial edition published 1 July of the adoption year, effective 180 days later on 1 January, with intervening-cycle supplements in between. The 2025 edition was published 1 July 2025 and took effect 1 January 2026; the 2027 triennial and 2025 intervening cycles are both already open.
BSC's own Codes page states the 2025 edition publication and effective dates and lists Parts 1-12; its Rulemaking page lists triennial and intervening cycles side by side; H&SC 18938(a) makes BSC the sole filer with the Secretary of State and 18938(c) sets the 180-day effective rule. The 2025 CEC preface (official BSC-published document) names the adopting agencies. Only deduction is the agency-by-part mapping, which is drawn from the CEC preface's own scope sections 89.102-89.114.
95% ·
adopting agency page
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is statewide code adoption mandatory, or may local jurisdictions opt out or amend it?
Mandatory - there is no opt-out. H&SC 18938(b) makes the model codes adopted into Title 24 applicable 'to all occupancies throughout the state'. A city or county may amend only by making an EXPRESS FINDING that the change is reasonably necessary because of local climatic, geological or topographical conditions, and filing that finding plus the marked amendment with BSC; no amendment is effective for any purpose until filed (H&SC 17958, 17958.5, 17958.7, 18941.5). CRITICAL CURRENT LIMIT: AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22, eff. 30 June 2025) amended all four sections so that from 1 October 2025 to 1 June 2031 a city or county SHALL NOT adopt any change, modification or more-restrictive standard applicable to RESIDENTIAL UNITS, and BSC SHALL REJECT such filings, unless one of six narrow exceptions applies (substantially equivalent to an amendment already in effect on 30 Sept 2025; BSC-deemed emergency standard; home hardening; fire-district home hardening; a mixed-fuel/general-plan alignment case; or purely administrative changes such as shortening postentitlement permit times or new permitting software). So for residential rooftop PV, new local code amendment is effectively frozen until mid-2031.
Read the enacted text of H&SC 17958, 17958.5, 17958.7 and 18941.5 directly from leginfo; all four carry the identical AB 130 moratorium language and the amendment line 'Amended by Stats. 2025, Ch. 22 (AB 130), Effective June 30, 2025'. The 2025 CEC preface independently restates the findings-and-filing rule. Deduction (not stated in the statute) is only the practical conclusion about PV amendments.
92% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is there a state solar permitting streamlining law, and what does it require of local authorities?
Yes - Government Code 65850.5 (the AB 2188 lineage, last amended by Stats. 2019, Ch. 494 (AB 754)). Subdivision (a) declares solar permitting a matter of statewide concern and NOT a municipal affair, so it binds charter cities. It requires a city or county to: administratively approve solar applications by building permit or similar NONDISCRETIONARY permit, with review limited to the building official's check of health and safety requirements (b); demand a use permit only on a substantial-evidence finding of a specific, adverse public health/safety impact (b),(c); deny only on written findings with no feasible mitigation (c); impose conditions only at the lowest cost possible (e); have adopted, by 30 September 2015 and in consultation with the fire department and any municipal utility director, an expedited streamlined permitting ordinance with a published checklist (g)(1); publish the checklist online, accept electronic submittal and electronic signatures, and substantially conform to the California Solar Permitting Guidebook (g)(2); require only ONE inspection for an eligible small residential rooftop system, done in a timely manner, possibly consolidated (h); and NOT condition permit approval on HOA approval (i). 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system' = <=10 kW AC (or 30 kW thermal) on a single or duplex dwelling within legal building height.
Full enacted text read from leginfo, including the amendment history line. Note for onward use: the California Solar Permitting Guidebook that (g)(2) points to could not be retrieved - every OPR/LCI URL for it now ends in a redirect loop on lci.ca.gov, so the statutory duty is live but the referenced document is not currently reachable at its published address.
95% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is there a statutory deadline for reviewing a residential solar permit application?
No - California sets NO statutory day-count for reviewing a residential solar permit application. Gov. Code 65850.5(g)(1) says only that an application satisfying the checklist 'shall be deemed complete' and that on confirming completeness the agency 'shall ... approve the application and issue all required permits', with no elapsed-time limit; 65850.5(h) requires the single inspection to be 'in a timely manner' - again no number. The only hard timing obligation is indirect: Gov. Code 65850.52 requires an eligible system to be permitted in REAL TIME through the automated platform. This absence is deliberate rather than an oversight: for EV charging the Legislature did write explicit deadlines into Gov. Code 65850.71 (AB 970, 2021) - deemed complete after 5 business days (1-25 stations) or 10 (26+), and approval/comments within 20 or 40 business days - and wrote no equivalent for solar.
Proved absence, not an unchecked one. Read 65850.5 in full (no numeric deadline anywhere in subdivisions (a)-(j)); walked the surrounding statutory block by number AND name - 65850.51 and 65850.53/.54 return no section, 65850.52 is SB 379, 65850.55 is AB 1801 fee-basis, 66015 is the fee cap - so no adjacent solar deadline provision exists; and confirmed the EV contrast section 65850.71 does exist with real numbers. Held at 80 rather than higher because a deadline could in principle sit outside Title 7 Div. 1 Ch. 4.
80% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is automated or instant permitting (e.g. SolarAPP+) mandated or enabled by state law?
Mandated. Government Code 65850.52, added by SB 379 (Wiener), Stats. 2022, Ch. 356, eff. 1 Jan 2023 (technically amended by AB 1754, Stats. 2023, Ch. 131). A city, county, or city and county, in consultation with the local fire department/district/authority, SHALL implement an online automated permitting platform 'such as SolarAPP+' that verifies code compliance and issues permits in REAL TIME to a licensed contractor - or lets the jurisdiction issue in real time - for a residential PV system up to 38.4 kW AC and a residential energy storage system paired with such a PV system. SolarAPP+ is defined in (a)(4) as the NREL web portal. Compliance schedule (c): cities under 5,000 population and counties under 150,000 (including every city inside such a county) are EXEMPT; cities of 50,000 or fewer that are not exempt had until 30 September 2024; everything over 50,000 had until 30 September 2023. A jurisdiction need not use the platform where the system configuration is not SolarAPP+-eligible at submittal (b)(2). Jurisdictions report compliance and annual permit counts to the CEC (d),(e), self-certify compliance when applying for CEC funds (f), and (i) charter cities are included. Subdivision (g) expressly does NOT limit the interconnection requirements or approval process of a local publicly owned electric utility or an electrical corporation.
Read the chaptered SB 379 text (Chapter 356, approved 16 Sept 2022) and confirmed the section is codified and current at GOV 65850.52 on leginfo. Note the correction to a common error: SB 379 did NOT amend 65850.5 - that section's last amendment is 2019 AB 754 - it added a free-standing 65850.52.
95% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Does state law cap or otherwise constrain residential solar permit fees?
Yes, two constraints, both binding on charter cities. (1) Government Code 66015 (as amended by AB 1132, Stats. 2023, Ch. 357) caps the RESIDENTIAL permit fee - the sum of ALL charges levied in connection with the application on a single- or two-family dwelling - at the estimated reasonable cost of service and in any event at $450 plus $15 per kW for each kW above 15 kW for photovoltaic ($450 + $15/kWth above 10 kWth for thermal). Commercial: $1,000 up to 50 kW, plus $7/kW from 51-250 kW, plus $5/kW above 250 kW. A jurisdiction may exceed the cap ONLY by adopting a written finding in a resolution or ordinance giving substantial evidence of the reasonable cost to issue the permit, and that finding must contain all three elements in subdivision (c): that it has adopted streamlining ordinances/processes consistent with the state guidelines, Guidebook checklists and model ordinances; a calculation of administrative cost that accounts for any cost reduction under 65850.5; and a description of how the higher fee still yields a quick, streamlined approval. Subdivision (i) preserves plan check. The section sunsets 1 January 2034. (2) Government Code 65850.55 (AB 1801, 2012) separately forbids calculating any solar permit fee on the valuation of the system or of the property, or on improvement/material/labour cost, and requires each fee to be itemised separately on the applicant's invoice.
Both sections read as raw enacted text from leginfo, including the AB 1132 amendment line and the 2034 repeal. The $450/$15 figures and the three mandatory findings elements are quoted from the statute, not from a summary.
95% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
What state licence is required to install residential PV or to pull the electrical permit?
A CSLB contractor's licence. Two classifications reach residential PV directly: C-46 Solar Contractor (16 CCR 832.46) - 'installs, modifies, maintains, and repairs thermal and photovoltaic solar energy systems', and may not undertake other building trades except as required to install the solar system; and C-10 Electrical Contractor (16 CCR 832.10) - places, installs, erects or connects electrical wiring, raceways, apparatus and expressly 'solar photovoltaic cells'. A C-10 may pull the electrical permit for the work outright; a C-46 may perform and permit the electrical work that is part of installing the solar energy system but not general electrical work beyond it. A B General Building contractor (B&P Code 7057) may take a prime contract only where the project requires at least two unrelated trades other than framing/carpentry, or where the B holds the appropriate C classification or subcontracts to one - so a B cannot self-perform a solar-only job on its B alone. On the permit itself, B&P Code 7031.5 requires every county or city issuing building permits to make each applicant file a signed statement giving the licence number and affirming it is in force, or stating the basis of any exemption (e.g. owner-builder), with a civil penalty up to $500 for violation.
C-46 and C-10 wording taken from CSLB's own reproduction of the 16 CCR Article 3 classification text (the older /C-46_-_Solar.aspx style URLs that search returns are dead 'page no longer exists' pages - the live route is Licensing_Classifications_Detail.aspx?Class=C46). B&P 7057 and 7031.5 read as enacted text. Held below 95 because I did NOT verify the separate and frequently-asked question of whether a C-46 may install standalone battery storage without a C-10 - that limit is not stated in 832.46 and I could not source CSLB's position on it in this run, so no claim is made about it here.
88% ·
licensing board page
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Are counties the AHJ for residential solar in unincorporated areas in this state?
Yes. H&SC 17960 provides that 'the building department of every city or county shall enforce within its jurisdiction all the provisions published in the State Building Standards Code' for dwellings, so in unincorporated territory the county building department is the enforcement agency and AHJ; H&SC 18948 leaves enforcement and administration of building standards with the agency specified by law. Government Code 65850.5, 65850.52 and 66015 all impose their duties on 'a city, county, or city and county' in identical terms, so a county carries the same streamlining, automated-permitting and fee-cap obligations for its unincorporated area as a city does. Unlike Texas, there is no class of California county that lacks building-permit jurisdiction over residential solar.
H&SC 17960 and 18948 read as enacted text; the parallel 'city, county, or city and county' phrasing verified in the full text of all three Government Code sections. Not 95 only because individual counties can and do contract out or delegate the physical inspection function, which changes who shows up without changing who the AHJ is.
90% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is there a state solar-rights law limiting HOA or local restrictions on rooftop PV?
Yes - the Solar Rights Act. Civil Code 714 voids and makes unenforceable any covenant, restriction or condition, and any HOA governing-document provision, that effectively prohibits or restricts installation or use of a solar energy system; only 'reasonable restrictions' survive, and for PHOTOVOLTAIC systems 714(d)(1)(B) defines the threshold precisely - a restriction is unreasonable if it adds more than $1,000 to the system cost as originally specified and proposed, or decreases system efficiency by more than 10 percent. 714(e)(2) requires an association to approve or deny in writing and DEEMS THE APPLICATION APPROVED if not denied in writing within 45 days (absent a reasonable request for more information); 714(f) sets actual damages plus a civil penalty up to $1,000 for a wilful violation, 714(g) awards attorney's fees to the prevailing party, and 714(h)(2) bars a local public entity from exempting its residents. Civil Code 714.1 (as amended by AB 634, Stats. 2017, Ch. 818) bars an association from adopting a general policy prohibiting rooftop PV on the roof of the owner's own residence or an assigned garage/carport, and from requiring a membership vote (including under Civil Code 4600) for such an installation; either act is void. On the local side, Gov. Code 65850.5(a) forbids ordinances creating unreasonable barriers 'including, but not limited to, design review for aesthetic purposes', and 65850.5(i) forbids a city or county conditioning a solar permit on HOA approval.
Civil Code 714 and 714.1 read as full enacted text from leginfo including amendment lines (714: Stats. 2014, Ch. 521 (AB 2188); 714.1: Stats. 2017, Ch. 818 (AB 634)); the 65850.5 cross-provisions read in the same run.
95% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Which NEC edition is adopted statewide, and effective from what date?
The 2023 National Electrical Code, adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3). The California modifications were filed with the Secretary of State on 10 January 2025; the code was published 1 July 2025 and is EFFECTIVE 1 JANUARY 2026 statewide. Adoption is by reference with California additions, amendments and deletions. Local amendment is possible only on findings filed with BSC - and, for residential units, is barred until 1 June 2031 by AB 130 (see Q2). Notably, NEC Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) is adopted with NO California amendment at all.
Two independent official sources agreeing: BSC's 2024 Triennial Code Adoption Cycle page states the cycle adopts 'the 2024 editions of the ICC and IAPMO model codes and the 2023 edition of the NEC ... resulting in the 2025 edition of the California Building Standards Code ... effective January 1, 2026'; and BSC's own published 2025 CEC California-amendments document opens 'Based on the 2023 National Electrical Code' with the Secretary of State filing date. The Article 690 finding comes from searching that amendments document - 'Article 690' appears only once, in an informational note cross-reference under 705.20, with positive control ('Article 690', 'Energy Storage') hitting and fabricated control ('zzqqx') returning zero.
95% ·
adopting regulation
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Which building and residential code edition is adopted statewide?
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2, Volumes 1 & 2), based on the 2024 International Building Code, and 2025 California Residential Code (Title 24, Part 2.5), based on the 2024 International Residential Code. Both published 1 July 2025, effective 1 January 2026. One- and two-family dwellings and townhouses are governed by Part 2.5. The 2024 IRC reorganisation carries through: solar is now CRC Section R329 (Solar Energy Systems) and energy storage is R330, where in the 2022/2021 cycle they sat at R324 and R328 - R324 is now Glazing. Anyone carrying forward old section numbers on plan sets or handouts will be citing the wrong sections.
BSC's 2024 Triennial cycle page states adoption of 'the 2024 editions of the ICC ... model codes' producing the 2025 Title 24 effective 1 Jan 2026, and the BSC Codes page confirms Part 2 and Part 2.5 publication and 1 Jan 2026 errata dates. Corroborated structurally: the 2025 CRC Chapter 3 table of contents I retrieved shows the 2024-IRC layout (R324 Glazing, R329 Solar Energy Systems, R330 Energy Storage Systems). Not 95 because BSC's sentence says 'ICC model codes' generically rather than naming IBC and IRC individually.
92% ·
adopting agency page
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Which fire code edition is adopted statewide?
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 International Fire Code, adopted by the Office of the State Fire Marshal with BSC approval. Published 1 July 2025, effective 1 January 2026 (Part 9 errata also effective 1 Jan 2026). Solar photovoltaic power systems sit at CFC Section 1205 and energy storage at Section 1207 - the 2024 IFC numbering; in the previous cycle solar was Section 1204.
BSC Codes page lists Part 9 in the 2025 edition with 1 Jan 2026 errata; BSC's triennial cycle page states the 2024 ICC model codes are the base. Corroborated by the retrieved 2025 CFC Chapter 12 text, in which Section 1204 is Portable Generators and Section 1205 is Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems - the 2024 IFC arrangement. Slightly below Q11 because I confirmed the base edition by inference from 'ICC model codes' plus the section renumbering rather than from an OSFM statement naming the 2024 IFC.
90% ·
adopting agency page
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
What statewide amendments affect residential PV specifically?
The statewide PV-specific amendments are concentrated outside the electrical code. (a) Electrical (Part 3, 2025 CEC): NEC Article 690 is adopted UNAMENDED; the only California PV-related electrical amendments are a new Article 100 definition of 'Ballasted Solar Photovoltaic System' [BSC, SFM, HCD 1 & 2], an exception to 110.13(A) permitting roof-mounted ballasted PV systems not to be firmly secured provided wiring and interconnections accommodate maximum system displacement, and a new 706.10 [CEC] requiring ESS-readiness in one- and two-dwelling single-family buildings per Energy Code 150.0(s). (b) Residential (Part 2.5, 2025 CRC R329): California amendments include R329.7.2 (elevated PV support structures over a roof assembly), R329.8.2 (ground-mounted arrays exempt from setbacks but requiring a 10-foot brush-free clear area), and R329.8.3 (locations of DC conductors - run near ridge/hip/valley, minimise rooftop conduit, metallic conduit or raceway for DC inside enclosed spaces, conduit along the bottom of load-bearing members). (c) Fire (Part 9, 2025 CFC): the same DC-conductor-location rule as SFM amendments at 1205.2.4 (R-3) and 1205.3.4 (other than R-3). (d) Energy (Part 6, 2025 Energy Code): 150.1(c)14 requires a PV system on ALL newly constructed single-family residential buildings, sized to the smaller of Equation 150.1-C or SARA x 18 (steep-sloped) / x 14 (low-sloped), with modules meeting Joint Appendix JA11; and 150.0(s) requires battery-storage-ready electrical infrastructure. (e) 2025 CFC 1205.2.1 Exception 1 disapplies the Fire Code's R-3 access/setback rules to structures designed and constructed under the CRC, so for a normal house the CRC R329.6 rules - not CFC 1205.2.1 - are the operative ones.
Electrical amendments come from BSC's own published 2025 CEC amendments document (definitive, since that document by construction contains only California amendments) with positive/fabricated controls passing. Energy Code items come from the CEC's published restructured 2025 Part 6 PDF, extracted with pdftotext -layout, not summarised - note that PDF uses restructured numbering (702.3.1, 702.2.2) with the operative legacy citations 150.1(c)14 and 150.0(s) in brackets. The CRC/CFC amendment identification is the weakest link: the code text itself is reliable, but I identified WHICH provisions are California amendments from italic/[SFM] markers in a commercial reproduction of Title 24 rather than from the printed Matrix Adoption Tables, so treat the amendment/model split as indicative and the text as sound.
80% ·
adopting regulation
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Does state law or a statewide amendment require placards or labelling beyond the NEC?
Yes, but from the Fire and Residential codes, not from an electrical amendment. 2025 CFC 1205.4 requires permanent rapid-shutdown labels with prescribed wording, colour and letter height: for systems shutting down the array and its leaving conductors, first two lines uppercase 3/8 inch black on yellow, remainder 3/16 inch black on white, per Figure 1205.4.1(1); for systems shutting down only the conductors leaving the array, first two lines 3/8 inch white on RED with the remainder black on white, per Figure 1205.4.1(2). 1205.4.1.1 requires a building diagram with non-shut-down sections in red; 1205.4.1.2 requires the label within 3 feet of the service disconnecting means the PV is connected to, indicating the location of all rapid-shutdown switches if not co-located; 1205.4.2 covers buildings with more than one rapid-shutdown type. CFC 1205.2.3 and CRC R329.6.4 require REFLECTIVE markings visible from grade beneath the eaves identifying hidden BIPV electrical-hazard areas to avoid for ladder placement (excepted for UL 3741-listed BIPV). For batteries, CRC R330.11 requires the manufacturer's installation/operation/maintenance/decommissioning instructions to be given to the owner or posted conspicuously near the ESS, plus a label on the installed system with contact details for qualified maintenance and service providers. Conversely, the 2025 California Electrical Code adds NOTHING to NEC Article 690 marking - Article 690 is adopted verbatim.
CFC 1205.4 and CRC R329.6.4/R330.11 text read directly from the 2025 code text. The 'nothing added to Article 690' half is proved from BSC's own amendments document with controls. Held at 85 because the CFC 1205.4 series largely tracks the 2024 IFC - i.e. it is statewide law in California but is not a California-specific amendment beyond the model code, and I did not separately verify which sub-parts OSFM altered.
85% ·
code text
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is there a statewide fire setback or roof access pathway rule for rooftop PV?
Yes, and for a normal house the governing set is the RESIDENTIAL code, not the fire code. 2025 CRC R329.6: at least two 36-inch-wide pathways on separate roof planes from lowest roof edge to ridge on all buildings, at least one on the street or driveway side, and for each roof plane carrying an array at least one 36-inch pathway from lowest edge to ridge on that plane, an adjacent plane, or straddling both; pathways must be over areas capable of supporting firefighters and clear of vents, conduit and mechanical equipment. R329.6.2 ridge setback: 18 inches clear both sides of a horizontal ridge where the array occupies not more than 33 percent of plan-view total roof area, 36 inches where it occupies more. R329.6.2.1 alternative where the dwelling or townhouse has an NFPA 13D / R309 sprinkler system: 18 inches up to 66 percent coverage, 36 inches above 66 percent. R329.6.3: no panels on the roof portion below an emergency escape and rescue opening, with a 36-inch pathway to it. Four exceptions to R329.6: detached non-habitable structures (garages, carports, shade structures, solar trellises); where the enforcing agency determines rooftop operations will not be employed; roofs sloped 2:12 or less; and UL 3741-listed BIPV determined not to expose firefighters to shock. Ground-mounted arrays are exempt from setbacks but require a 10-foot brush-free clear area (R329.8.2). The 2025 CFC 1205.2.1 carries a parallel Group R-3 rule, but its Exception 1 states expressly that it does 'not apply to structures designed and constructed in accordance with the California Residential Code'.
Full text of CRC R329.6 through R329.8.3 and CFC 1205.2 through 1205.3.4 read in this run, including the exception lists and the CRC carve-out in CFC 1205.2.1. The CRC-vs-CFC precedence point is quoted from the code, not inferred. Below 95 only because the source is a reproduction of Title 24 rather than the ICC/BSC original, and because the 2025 renumbering (R324 to R329) is recent enough that stale local handouts will disagree.
88% ·
code text
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Are there statewide rules for residential battery energy storage?
Yes, and they are unusually detailed. 2025 CRC R330 (one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses): ESS must be listed and labelled to UL 9540 (R330.2), with an exception allowing approved repurposed unlisted EV battery systems outdoors or in detached sheds at least 5 feet from exterior walls, property lines and public ways. Individual units separated by at least 3 feet unless the listing says otherwise (R330.3.1). Permitted locations only (R330.4): detached garages and detached accessory structures; attached garages separated per R302.6; outdoors or on the exterior side of exterior walls at least 3 feet from doors and windows entering the dwelling unless the UL 9540 listing permits less; and enclosed utility closets, basements, storage or utility spaces with finished or non-combustible walls and ceilings (unfinished wood framing requires 5/8-inch Type X gypsum, with 1-3/8-inch solid wood / honeycomb steel or 20-minute rated self-latching self-closing doors). NEVER in sleeping rooms or closets or spaces opening directly into them. Ratings (R330.5): 20 kWh maximum per individual unit; aggregate 40 kWh within utility closets, basements and storage/utility spaces inside dwellings, 80 kWh in attached garages; 600 kWh total aggregate on the property; anything exceeding these goes to CFC Section 1207. Also R330.7 fire detection with an [SFM] amendment, R330.8 impact protection, R330.9 mechanical ventilation for hydrogen-producing indoor installations, R330.10 EV-as-backup, R330.11 documentation and labelling, R330.12 (California amendment) barring ESS that can release toxic or highly toxic gas from Group R-3 and R-4. Separately, 2025 Energy Code 150.0(s) makes new single-family homes with service greater than 125 A BESS-READY: either BESS-ready interconnection equipment with 60 A minimum backed-up capacity and four BESS-supplied branch circuits, or a dedicated raceway (not less than 1 inch trade size) to a labelled subpanel; the four circuits must include the refrigerator, a lighting circuit near the primary egress and a sleeping-room receptacle; 225 A minimum main busbar; and reserved space plus raceways for a transfer switch within 3 feet of the main panel. 2025 CEC 706.10 restates the 150.0(s) duty inside the electrical code.
CRC R330.1-R330.12 text read in this run including Table R330.5 and the [SFM] marker in R330.7; Energy Code 150.0(s) extracted from the CEC's own Part 6 PDF with pdftotext -layout; CEC 706.10 quoted from BSC's published 2025 CEC amendments document. Below 95 because Table R330.5's third row (exterior walls) was truncated in extraction, so the aggregate figure for the exterior-wall location is not stated here.
88% ·
code text
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Who regulates interconnection, and does that authority reach municipal utilities and co-operatives?
The CPUC regulates interconnection, but ONLY for investor-owned utilities - its reach does NOT extend to publicly owned utilities or co-operatives. Electric Rule 21 is the tariff describing interconnection, operating and metering requirements for generating and storage facilities connecting to an IOU distribution or transmission system 'over which the Commission has jurisdiction'. CPUC states the covered set explicitly: the large IOUs PG&E, SCE and SDG&E, plus the three small and multi-jurisdictional utilities Bear Valley Electric Service, Liberty Utilities (CalPeco) and PacifiCorp - and each IOU administers and files its own version of Rule 21. PacifiCorp is not required to file its own Rule 21 and uses its FERC OATT processes instead (D.07-07-027). Outside that set: LADWP, SMUD, Imperial Irrigation District, Roseville, Anaheim and every other local publicly owned electric utility, plus electrical co-operatives, set their own interconnection rules. The statutory hooks are Pub. Util. Code 218 (a POU is not an 'electrical corporation'), Pub. Util. Code 2827(b)(9), which makes the 'ratemaking authority' for a POU 'the local elected body responsible for setting the rates of the local publicly owned utility', and Gov. Code 65850.52(g), which says the solar automated-permitting mandate 'does not limit or otherwise affect the generator interconnection requirements and approval process for a local publicly owned electric utility ... or an electrical corporation'. A statewide sentence about interconnection is therefore wrong for roughly a quarter of California customers.
CPUC's own Rule 21 page names the jurisdictional utilities and the PacifiCorp carve-out; Pub. Util. Code 218 and 2827(b)(9) read as enacted text; Gov. Code 65850.52(g) quoted from the chaptered SB 379. The POU list beyond LADWP/SMUD/IID is general knowledge rather than sourced here.
92% ·
regulator page
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
Is there a statewide interconnection standard or timeline for residential PV?
Two layers, with different reach. (1) Tariff layer: Electric Rule 21 is the statewide interconnection standard for CPUC-jurisdictional utilities, first adopted in 1982 and administered per-utility by PG&E, SCE, SDG&E, Bear Valley and Liberty, each maintaining its own version of the rule. CPUC opened R.25-08-004 on 20 August 2025 to consider refinements to Rule 21 and the equivalent SMJU tariff rules, so the detail is in flux. (2) Statutory layer with wider reach: Pub. Util. Code 2827(e)(1) requires EVERY 'electric utility' to process a request to establish net energy metering and net surplus compensation in no more than the time for similarly situated customers requesting new service and IN NO CASE MORE THAN 30 WORKING DAYS from receipt of a completed application including a signed interconnection agreement and the electric inspection clearance from the AHJ; 2827(e)(2) applies the same 30-working-day limit to processing a request for an interconnection agreement. 'Electric utility' in 2827(b)(3) means an electrical corporation, a LOCAL PUBLICLY OWNED ELECTRIC UTILITY, or an electrical cooperative - so this timeline does bind SMUD, IID and most municipals. But the same paragraph adds: 'This section shall not apply to a local publicly owned electric utility that serves more than 750,000 customers and that also conveys water to its customers' - which is LADWP, and LADWP alone. Systems above 1 MW get 'prudent but necessary' study time instead.
Rule 21 scope, per-utility administration and the 2025 rulemaking from CPUC's Rule 21 page; the 30-working-day limits and the definitional exclusion quoted verbatim from the enacted text of Pub. Util. Code 2827. Held at 82 for one real uncertainty: 2827(c)(4)(D) shifts the large IOUs' tariff obligation to 2827.1 after July 2017, so how far 2827(e)'s 30-working-day clock still governs a net-billing-tariff applicant at PG&E/SCE/SDG&E (as opposed to Rule 21's own timelines) is a question I did not resolve. For POUs and co-ops the 30 working days is unambiguous.
82% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
May a third party perform the electrical inspection under state law?
Not as of right - California has no equivalent of the Texas private-provider route. Enforcement is vested in government: H&SC 17960 requires the building department of every city or county to enforce the Building Standards Code within its jurisdiction, and H&SC 18948 leaves enforcement and administration with the agency specified by law. What state code does allow is DISCRETIONARY acceptance of third-party work product: 2025 CRC Section R109.2 (Inspection Agencies) provides that 'the building official is authorized to accept reports of approved agencies, provided such agencies satisfy the requirements as to qualifications and reliability' - permission for the building official, not a right for the applicant, and CRC Chapter 1 Division II applies only as adopted (it is not adopted by HCD except where specifically indicated, with OSFM adoptions shown in the Matrix Adoption Table). In practice jurisdictions commonly contract private firms to act AS their inspectors, which is delegation rather than third-party substitution. The one hard statewide constraint on inspection volume is Gov. Code 65850.5(h): for an eligible small residential rooftop solar system only ONE inspection may be required, done in a timely manner and possibly consolidated, except that a separate fire safety inspection may be performed where the jurisdiction has no agreement with the local fire authority to inspect on its behalf.
H&SC 17960 and 18948 and Gov. Code 65850.5(h) are enacted text read in this run; CRC R109.2 is quoted from the 2025 code. Confidence is deliberately moderate because this is a partly negative finding: I established the enforcement vesting and the discretionary-acceptance provision, and found no authorising statute in the solar block (65850.5, .52, .55, 66015) or in H&SC Division 13, but I did not exhaustively sweep every California code for a private-inspection authorisation. The Matrix Adoption Table for R109.2 shows an adoption mark but I could not resolve which agency's column it falls in from the reproduction I used.
65% ·
statute
· checked Aug. 28, 2026
What is the state position on permission to operate and net metering or its successor tariff?
Split by utility type. FOR THE LARGE IOUs (PG&E, SCE, SDG&E): retail NEM 1.0 and 2.0 are closed to new enrolment; since 15 April 2023 customers applying for interconnection take the successor Net Billing Tariff (NBT) adopted in CPUC Decision D.22-12-056 - the IOUs market it as the 'Solar Billing Plan'. Onsite generation still serves onsite load first, but exports are credited at a value-to-grid rate ('Energy Export Credits') usually below retail, occasionally above on late summer evenings. Residential PG&E and SCE customers applying before the end of 2027 get a nine-year higher export-credit adder (SDG&E excluded), but customers installing PV to satisfy the building code's new-construction mandate do NOT get the adder; NBT customers must take a specified electrification TOU rate. The statutory basis is Pub. Util. Code 2827.1, with 2827(c)(4)(D) transferring the large IOUs' obligation from 2827 to 2827.1. On PTO specifically, Pub. Util. Code 2827(e)(1) makes the utility's 30-working-day clock run only from a completed application that includes the signed interconnection agreement AND 'the electric inspection clearance from the governmental authority having jurisdiction' - so the AHJ's final sign-off is a statutory precondition to the utility's step, and Rule 21 requires the utility's authorisation before parallel operation. FOR PUBLICLY OWNED UTILITIES AND CO-OPS: none of the NBT applies. Their NEM or successor terms are set by their own ratemaking authority - 'the local elected body responsible for setting the rates' (2827(b)(9)) - subject to 2827's own POU provisions, and 2827 does not apply at all to LADWP (a POU serving more than 750,000 customers that also conveys water). So SMUD, LADWP, IID and the rest each have their own compensation regime and their own PTO process.
CPUC's NEM/Net Billing pages state the 15 April 2023 date, D.22-12-056, the adder and TOU conditions, and carry an explicit note that the content 'applies in the territories of the large electric investor-owned utilities'; Pub. Util. Code 2827 and 2827.1 read as enacted text for the statutory basis, the inspection-clearance precondition, the POU ratemaking authority and the LADWP exclusion. I also checked AB 942 (2025-26), which would have curtailed NEM legacy status: it was amended on 17 July 2025 into a climate-credits bill amending Pub. Util. Code 748.5 and remains in Senate committee, so legacy NEM rules are unchanged.
88% ·
regulator page
· checked Aug. 28, 2026